Tunes & chips - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 02:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tunes & chips

So my 2000 7.3 came with an edge evolution programer on it. Should I leave that on there or get a new one? Also would a programmer or a chip be better?
Thanks for the help. I'm new to this
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-11-2012, 02:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

From my research so far, the consensus is that the edge evolution is inferior to a TS-style chip with tunes from a reputable tuner on it (PHP, Swamp's, Tony Wildman, Beans, etc...). Any of the reputable tuners will get you great tunes that you should be happy with. I am just about ready to purchase my chip, so I can't tell you from personal experience who's tunes are better. Good luck!
Old 08-11-2012, 03:15 PM

I have the dp and love it. It's way better than the superchips I had before. Plus it get better mileage.

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Old 08-11-2012, 06:39 PM

If you get a TS or dp chip, the difference over edge, superchips, etc is dramatic. Think about how much power you gained over stock with your edge. A real chip will add at least that much more difference to what you already have. There is just no comparison. There are other benefits as well. Lower egts, better life for your tranny if auto, possibly better mileage.

people that run edge, superchips, etc just do not know what they are missing out on.

I prefer PHP tunes. I have run DP, and just got Beans, but PHP is still better IMO. However I now have to have custom tunes and just need my beans and PHP dialed in a bit more. Depending on how you like your tunes will help in who to go with. All tunes will have similar power but the way they tune is different.