500 hp goal.... What's the best mods - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2012, 06:44 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
500 hp goal.... What's the best mods

Hey y'all, I'm new to diesel trucks. I've always had gas trucks but this time I decided to jump in and get a diesel. I would like like to have a 500 hp DD if possible. The truck I bought was well taken care of by the previous owner (sea71) I know that the PMR's must be changed to start with but I was wondering what else would be a good idea. Any input would be appreciated. I need a game plan and I figured this is probably the best place to get ideas. Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2012, 06:00 AM
Banned

Why 500hp? For what purpose?
Old 08-13-2012, 06:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Its going to be pretty expensive to make a reliable 500hp
Old 08-13-2012, 08:11 AM
Premium Member

Well I don't really have a reason. Just though it would be fun. I'm not talking 500hp all motor just 500hp with a good tune. I'm new to diesels And I'm not sure what a safe reliable number is as far as HP is concerned. Is 500 to much? To risky? I don't want to break anything. I guess I'm just looking for someone with more experience to educate me on what is safe and reliable for a 7.3. This truck is awesome as it sits now, I just didn't know if I could go farther.

Sent from my iPad using Autoguide
Old 08-13-2012, 08:25 AM
The Silent Service

500RWHP with a 7.3L, takes quite a bit of investment and on your '02, will likely require rods as well. Huge list of mods to take a 7.3L to that level, and you will have to up the transmission.

The later trucks are much easier to stretch to that power level, and the transmissions are more robust.