Valve Bodies - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2012, 04:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fayetteville Tn.
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Valve Bodies

Is there a need to contact and talk to the maker (BTS or Jw) about a valve body if you run a chip or other mods or are all the mods they do on them pretty much the same in there on rights so you can just order online?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-19-2012, 03:51 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It depends. If the VB maker knows your gonna run it tuned, they can do different things. Sometimes different VB makers will give you a "soft" street VB or a "harsh" track/tow VB. I'd always go w/ the most hars setting, in my opinion, because that means the VB is tuned to take care of the tranny better.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-19-2012, 07:06 AM
Guns & Powerstroke's
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Central Oklahoma
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Most vb's will be the same but the plate they send with it will be tuned for how you want it to shift.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-19-2012, 02:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do you really need a valve body if you have a tuned chip, or does the valve body do more than the chip
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-19-2012, 03:18 PM
Guns & Powerstroke's
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Central Oklahoma
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4btchevy View Post
do you really need a valve body if you have a tuned chip, or does the valve body do more than the chip
Yes to prolong the life of your Trans. With the plate they can adjust the amount of oil that is available to the various gear sets in your tranny. The chip can adjust line pressure but still is a limited amount of oil to flow. Your tranny uses the oil to apply force on your clutches to get u down the road. It is always better to get as close as you can hydraulically then use the chip to fine to to your liking.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:10 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillClimber350 View Post
Yes to prolong the life of your Trans. With the plate they can adjust the amount of oil that is available to the various gear sets in your tranny. The chip can adjust line pressure but still is a limited amount of oil to flow. Your tranny uses the oil to apply force on your clutches to get u down the road. It is always better to get as close as you can hydraulically then use the chip to fine to to your liking.
This is all correct
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-20-2012, 07:24 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fayetteville Tn.
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys. I tried calling JW, but they are on vacation until the 30th, so will call back then I guess. Do some of the vendors keep them in stock or does everyone order special from him?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-20-2012, 07:34 AM
Guns & Powerstroke's
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Central Oklahoma
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Why not call bts great people great product. Just have in mind what hp you normally run so they can get you setup when u call. (870) 422 FORD (3673) can go wrong with a business that has ford in the number lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors