I'm suing DP Tuner - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2007, 12:42 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I'm suing DP Tuner

For giving me the ability to break the tires loose in 2nd gear at 20 mph. Their program inadvertantly performed the unfavorable "tread delete" on said tires.

Seriously though, here is my "HAIL to DP TUNER" and current story about my truck.

I was set on a chip a long time ago. However I bought an SCT because I need instant tunes... within the next few months I'll have a built tranny and hopefully big oil. I can't not have my truck for a week each time I need a program so with SCT I can just download them and install them on my truck right after installing each modification. An added bonus is that I can read/clear codes too with the SCT as well as run a live data logging program!!!

After aquiring my SCT, I ordered 2 tunes... stock PMT1 and 120 RACE. I downloaded the programs onto the SCT and it would not detect the key-on feature. I was pissed, called SCT, they said send it back and they'd fix it. Well they said they couldn't fix it and sent me a new unit. I call DP Tuner and speak to Diane, give her the new serial number off of my invoice and get the new tunes emailed to me. I download them and try to put them on my SCT - but it won't let me, it says the serial number is wrong and it aborts. CRAP! I send a message to Diane and determine that the invoice was WRONG!!! Ok, the next morning, as promised, Jody had sent me the new files before I woke up and I put them on my SCT. Problem is.... drum roll please.... key on is not being detected!!!

I'm upset at this point and ready to give up, but I keep at it. Over the past 2 days I've used a volts multimeter in every pin and I can tell you what each pin does, and which ones corresponds to the other. I follow all the wires to the PCM and make sure there are no shorts or grounds or open wires. I've had my truck apart for 2 days now (still driving it to work/school) with this mess hanging around. I do everything that SCT tells me to do, and then it clicks! Mech2101 (forget his actual name) posted a LONG time ago and I remembered about it.

It's practically common knowledge that a "chip" overrides a programmer, but my truck didn't have a chip, no wires, nothing appeared to be on the contacts! After everything I did, SCT said the only thing it could be is another faulty Xcalc 2. I can't believe that's true, so I sat for a second and thought about it. I haven't had my PCM out since about 18 months ago, at which point I didn't really know what i was looking at. It had contacts showing, and I reclled that they looked slightly different then what I've seen more recently after installing several chips. I've even taken pictures of the face of the contacts and had people say nope, no chip! Well I yank the PCM out, notice the contactacts look different then they're supposed to, and I notice a slight bulk on top to the rear of the contacts since I can get some light down in there since it's out of the truck. So I take the PCM apart, and low and FREAKING behold - there is an old "single file chip" installed on my PCM!!!! (This is where mech comes in)

So I put everything back together, start the truck up (make sure everything's correct), turn it off, install the program and make sure it blows smoke and then put my exhaust back on and then drive it!

It's sooooo much fun! LOL
The trans shifts a bit better, definitely quicker, and it blows a TON of smoke. I lost about 2lbs of boost, but it builds quicker and pegs 26 and stays there. Another cool feature on the SCT is the speed governor. I put it at 60... just to make sure I don't go speeding at 100mph everywhere LOL. It will go above 60... just won't accelerated really at all. You can choose 60,65,70..on up to 125 or no governor at all.

Thanks to DP Tuner for helping me and getting me my tunes 3 TIMES ASAP, with NO QUESTIONS asked, they set me up. I was able to contact them when I needed to, and able to speak with Diane directly. Finally, I'm sorry to EVERYONE that I told about my truck not having a chip, when in reality it did. I've already put pepper on my tongue, to blot out the taste of crow!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-03-2007, 12:48 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,781
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to Lord Tauk Send a message via AIM to Lord Tauk
So you did have a chip after all?

How's it compare to mine?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-03-2007, 12:53 PM
DKR DKR is offline
<--Pro Cooler Racer
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 8,216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to DKR
Wow!! That sounds like a lot of work!! Glad you got it figured out though!!!

Nice work!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-03-2007, 01:06 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The shifts aren't quite as strong or frantic. With yours it seems to downshift immediately and quickly and then upshift shortly thereafter. In mine it seems to just stick the gear and bring up the RPM"s in that gear unless I mash it. Could also be a difference in our pedals since mine has always been stiffer then yours... ??? Still, it's pretty quick - but i know it's not a 15 flat truck yet b/c of the #8 cylinder not contributing completely.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-03-2007, 01:30 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,526
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
Good to hear marty! Glad you got her up and smoking!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-03-2007, 01:46 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dang, that was a book. JK. Glad you got it going. Now, you need to take the program out and see how much of a dog it really is I like doing that every once in a while just so I dont forget how much I love my tunes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-03-2007, 01:50 PM
SMOKE ROLLER

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Augusta, South Carolina
Posts: 1,994
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sound like somebody is happy...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-03-2007, 03:17 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,781
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to Lord Tauk Send a message via AIM to Lord Tauk
We should run the cylinder contribution test one more time to make sure it comes back with the same cylinder, I think

Otherwise, glad you're happy! How much smoke does it put out?

Your 120 tune is burned for the new trans and converter though?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-03-2007, 03:20 PM
DKR DKR is offline
<--Pro Cooler Racer
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 8,216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to DKR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Tauk View Post
We should run the cylinder contribution
Yeah..I wanna see this Auto Enginuty work some more....Dave and I just played with it shortly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-03-2007, 03:37 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I can tell it's not contributing - you can feel the slight miss.

It smokes pretty good, but I put the governor thingy on 60 and after 60 it barely smokes and doesn't really pull or want to go faster. I figured if I do that I won't get pulled over goign 100 MPH lol.

It is just the regular 120 race tune and a standard stock tune. I will get the tranny, and have RacerX tune the transmission to the stock setup. After that, Jody will tune the tranny and engine with new custom 120/60tow/80econo. This is why I got the SCT - saves me down time since I plan on getting the tranny soon and maybe big oil really soon after that. The programs are instantly sent to me via email.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors