Rebuilding a Turbo - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2012, 07:08 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Rebuilding a Turbo

I have an aftremarket turbo, 38r I believe? It was on the truck "01 Ex 7.3" when I bought it. Was told by mechanic that it's leaking. My question is, can the turbo be rebuilt or do they just get replaced?. Or would it be better to go back to stock? Truck is stock except for 5" exhaust DP Tuner. I saw remanned stock turbos but not any 38r's Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-08-2012, 07:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 840
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Supposedly the 38r isn't rebuildable but I haven't ever heard why, exactly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-08-2012, 10:57 AM
Banned

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: reppin da 615
Posts: 1,919
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Take a pic of the turbo, 38r's are rebuildable but it costs as much as a new one. And what exactly is it leakin?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-08-2012, 11:11 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's leaking oil. Just had the pedestal replaced now mech. says the turbo is I don't know from where exactly. I can take a pic later and post it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:35 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There are no markings or casts on my turbo to tell me what kind it is or if it's stock or aftermarket. The PO told me it was a 38r?. If I go back with a stock turbo will it bolt right back up with out any mods and will I notice any considerable power loss? I have 5" turbo back exh. DP Tuner and DIY6637 intake. I don't do much heavy towing, Ski Nautique and an Airboat from time to time. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:38 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: reppin da 615
Posts: 1,919
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes a stocker will bolt up, you won't feel much power loss, surge might become an issue. measure the inlet size, if its not 4 inches then its definitely not a 38r
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:47 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It had a K&N cold CAI on it I removed the filter end and the DIY6637 fit on the intake hose so unless it necks down it should be 4" inlet right> Also can you explain surge? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:56 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: reppin da 615
Posts: 1,919
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes, surge is when like the turbine side of the turbo over speeds, it happens in modded trucks especially when towin. 38r's can't surge as they were designed not to
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:03 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks. Ok so if I won"t see a big diff in performance I may just go back with the stock turbo. I've seen some on ebay for a good price, unless there junk and I should stay away from them
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:07 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: reppin da 615
Posts: 1,919
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
38r are like 1300 right now, and they are a huge upgrade over stock. i would hate to know i had to go back to stock (hard to because i'm runnin a t4 mount) if you can swing the 1300 do that, if not you don't really have a choice
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors