Chip versus programmer as Noob understands it - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2012, 11:21 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Chip versus programmer as Noob understands it

discalimer / caveat: I am a Noob. I just purchased a 2001 F-350 Crewcab Longbed w/ the 7.3. Ihave done multiple searches on this site and this is what I understand about chips versus programmers:

Chips:
ex: Tony Wildman, Beans, DP-Tuner.
You can get them customized, lots of different flavors (DP-Tuner has 16 possilbe different offerings) and you can switch you desired setting on the fly, more or less (i.e. go from Heavy Tow to stock with a turn of a dial)
Proprietary (TW tunes won't work on a DP-Tuner chip)

Programmer:
ex: Edge Evolution w/ juice.
canned tune. No changing on the fly. limited number of flavors. possible transmission issues?

If I am missing something important here, please feel free to correct me.

My question is this: My diesel shops seems to be a huge fan of the edge evolution and I cannot figure out why.

I have decided to go with an F6 chip from DP-Tuner. James (The DP guy) put up with all manner of idiot questions and I figure that's worth giving him my business.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-07-2012, 01:22 AM
Premium Member