Can't uninstall hypertech - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2007, 04:45 PM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mt. Washington, Ky.
Posts: 8,146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Can't uninstall hypertech

I put a hypertech programmer on my 99 and now I can't get it off. When trying, it asks if my computer has been updated by ford and gives me error 95. It was given to me so I don't have a book for it. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-20-2007, 04:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 4,231
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not good grass hopper!


i wonder if the ol unplug your batteries for about 30 mins would work?

if not the dealer could flash it,,,,,,,,maybe?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:47 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Glendale AZ
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Have you had it to the dealer for anything recently? Maybe they flashed it and overwrote your Hypertech...

Hindsight: Always remove tuner before taking to the dealer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-21-2007, 09:34 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,564
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Yeah that doesn't sound good man....if you took it to the dealer and they flashed it with an update from Ford your Hypertech program is gone man.....sorry bud
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-22-2007, 03:18 AM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mt. Washington, Ky.
Posts: 8,146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
It hasn't been to the dealer since I've had it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-22-2007, 10:30 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,564
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitelongbed View Post
It hasn't been to the dealer since I've had it.
Well I would give ol Hypertech a call and see what they have to say.....has something happened to the programmer itself, like dropping it, or getting it wet, or maybe there is something wrong with one of the prongs on the programmer or the OBD II port????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-22-2007, 10:58 AM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mt. Washington, Ky.
Posts: 8,146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Called hypertech, they said it sounds like it has part of the last truck it was on's information in it. They said the computer needs to be flashed and they can't update the programmer because it's too old.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-22-2007, 11:01 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,564
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitelongbed View Post
Called hypertech, they said it sounds like it has part of the last truck it was on's information in it. They said the computer needs to be flashed and they can't update the programmer because it's too old.
That sucks man.....so all you can do is buy a new one???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-22-2007, 11:03 AM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mt. Washington, Ky.
Posts: 8,146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Not really too concerned about it, the programmer was given to me anyway. I'd just like to be able to give it back the way I got it but oh well. So if ford flashes the computer, the hypertech program will be lost?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-22-2007, 11:05 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,564
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitelongbed View Post
Not really too concerned about it, the programmer was given to me anyway. I'd just like to be able to give it back the way I got it but oh well. So if ford flashes the computer, the hypertech program will be lost?
Yeah it should wipe it out with no problem and reset everything to stock.....sucks you have to go that route though.....does the truck still run or you don't know??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors