ECU questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2012, 01:33 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ECU questions

When i was installing my new ts performance chip i unhooked the batteries but didn't tie the terminal back and it made contact as i was installing the chip now i think i fried my ecu my ecu code is apx1 1c3f 12a650-yb and i cant find a ecu is there other ecu's that would work in my truck? If i get a used ecu do i have to have it flashed to my vin and milage and where can i get this done?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-09-2012, 02:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrisville UT
Posts: 556
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Why do you think your pcm is fried? Hopefully you didn't leave the keys in the ignition when you installed the chip, thats what fries the pcm.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-09-2012, 02:20 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the key was in the ignition and now i have no power to the fuel pump and no wait to start light. I checked all the fuses and there all good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-09-2012, 03:03 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If i buy a reman computer do i have to have it flashed i found a reman ecu for $237
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-10-2012, 05:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrisville UT
Posts: 556
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
You'll be fine without having it reflashed, but it you want the most current program you'll want to have it done.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-10-2012, 07:06 PM
Coal Rolling = Posing

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cumberland Furnace, TN
Posts: 9,873
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Have you tried to pull the chip off the PCM and see if the truck starts?

If you have, find a PMT1 PCM.

You have an E99 truck I'm guessing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-10-2012, 08:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 391
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check the fuses first in the box under the hood. if not I have a pcm that will work in your truck that I'll send to ya


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-10-2012, 10:30 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I checked the fuses there good
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-11-2012, 05:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 391
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Then you pcm is fried.. Mine has fired before.. Pm me I got one that will work in your trucks that I'll sale to ya for a good price.


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-11-2012, 03:57 PM
Coal Rolling = Posing

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cumberland Furnace, TN
Posts: 9,873
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 82 wild bill View Post
I checked the fuses there good
Is the chip still on the PCM???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
computer, ecm, ecu, pcm

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors