I want Single Shot Injectors, but... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2012, 09:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I want Single Shot Injectors, but...

Every Profesional Mechanic I talk to in CA tells me to stick with the stock injectors the truck came with. What do I do???

First of all, I'm new to posting here, but have been lurking for a while. Thank you for all of the great information. I have invested many hours into studying all of the information here.

I am new to diesel trucks, but always wanted a 7.3 Ford because I heard nothing but good things about them. About 6 months ago I bought a 2002 F250 CCSB w/ 210k miles from a friend, so I know alot of the history of the truck. He was the second owner, so there are still some unknowns.

The truck has been good, and I hauled several 2-3k lb loads from Sacramento to Reno and back in the bed of the truck. The truck started leaking/ using oil, I had a small leak at the EBPV valve on the turbo and fixed it (It now has a pedestal with the EBPV delete) I was still loosing oil, but I thought I am now burning it. I took it to a well respected Diesel speciality mechanic in the Sacramento area and he diagnosed it as needing Injector O-rings, but recommended as long as we were going to be replacing those to replace the Injectors while they were out, due to having 220K on them now, and they are "probably worn out" I was not ready to pay for all that work at that time, so I drove the truck home and it has stayed in my driveway mostly for the last month. This is when I began researching injectors. I do not want to make this a race truck, or go crazy with it, I just want a dependable truck that can haul some weight and pull my ski boat when I need it to.