Building My 7.3 Need Input!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2012, 05:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Building My 7.3 Need Input!!!

Hey guys newbie here, but not to the diesel world. I've got a 2000 f-350 4x4 6sp that I've had since new. It has 215000 on it and it's got to where it was hard starting it. So i figured glow plugs... or relay. Checked the relay and was good. Pulled the drivers side valve cover and decided since I was there I would just check the compression. Just checked the one side, but numbers were 2-420 4-340 6-350 8-200. I've always wanted to build my motor from ground up with upgrade parts so i figured now would be a good time. I farm for a living so my truck hauls all the time equipment hay livestock etc... with that in mind guys what all aftermarket goodies do I need to sink in it? I know I'm gonna sink a lot of money in it, but I want to do it right and not worry about it. Looking to make high hp pulling monster, but I don't want to be worrying about it failing or coming apart on me. Thanks for any input.

Last edited by walkn2tall; 01-26-2012 at 07:36 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-28-2012, 06:53 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Im not to knowledgeable on builing one from scratch but its always good to see somebody using a diesel to its full potentail. Seems like a lot of them get used as cars anymore.
Old 01-28-2012, 07:32 PM
Banned

Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Subscribing...

There's another build thread ATM.... I'll see if I can find it....

Might help to post up where you are... lot's of us work pretty cheap (for beer) and might be someone in your area able/willing to help!

I'm looking into a partial rebuild, that is a block-swap.

Old 01-28-2012, 07:34 PM
Banned