Want more power..where do i start, - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2011, 08:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Want more power..where do i start,

I have an 01 7.3 that I am looking to get more get up and go out of. It has a banks big head on the factory turbo and I am assuming a superchips program.(Thats what it says down by the brake pedal anyhow) It has 4'' exhaust but not the down pipe from the turbo. I am new to anything diesel upgrade oriented and really could use the help. I know a aftermarket air filter is first and foremost but where do l go from there. Can I remove the program thats in it already and go to something more adjustable. I dont have an unlimited budget have priced turbos,and wheels,and other parts but I just dont know where to start. Help!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-28-2011, 09:27 AM
Banned

you pimped out a stock turbo, and got nothing in return, those parts fix surge, not performance,

you cannot stack programming in a 7.3, last i knew.

k&n is known to dust engines, though if you gotta complete kit it might not be as bad, its the stock replacement filter thats bad.

the HPx and the FRx are debateable. the FRx will get eliminated if you do a rr, and the HPx its hit and miss on ppls trucks if it helps or not. some do, some dont.

edge programming doesnt attempt to tune the trans. the extra power the motor creates is not compensated in the trans, for instance increasing line pressure, changing shift points to make better use of the power, etc etc.

imo, the only things i would have done is the exhaust, MAYBE the ic, the bypass, and cuz your a ex, the dual alt.

here, read this, and go from there. some of the conversion stuff is geared towards a truck, i dont know if it will fit your ex.