Wastegate - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2007, 09:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plainville
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wastegate

has any one seen, or will unplugging the red line on the wastgate cause or create any problems?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-27-2007, 09:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,356
Thanks: 23
Thanked 24 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
ive had mine unplugged this whole year.. turbo spools up faster and gets higher boost....i say go for it

-Raul
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-27-2007, 09:42 PM
Member/MARINE
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to rajharley
yep...the problem that I have with mine now is directly related to unplugging the red line on the wastegate. I cannot keep my damm foot outta the go peddle. You'll love how much faster it spools the turbo.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-28-2007, 05:57 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plainville
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks guys i'm going to unplug it this morning and see how she feels
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-28-2007, 06:07 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,760
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamaharider103 View Post
thanks guys i'm going to unplug it this morning and see how she feels
Just remember you have to put that redline on a bolt or plug it some how. I stuck it on a the boot clamp coming off the turbo. Works pretty good right there.

I have been running that way for about a year now with no problems. Although you may need to invest into a map fooler. As the map sensor may send an overboost signal to the pcm which will cause the cel to come on. If that happens just clear the code and get a map fooler.

Also you should be running gauges when you do this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-28-2007, 04:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plainville
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks guys, i am running gauges. and i deffinetly noticed a diffrence. alot faster spool up time and +2 psi i can now reach 20psi.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-28-2007, 04:11 PM
Learning the 6.0 game…...

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Sacramento
Posts: 3,752
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
IS THAT RIGHT? I was wondering about that myself
All I have to do is unplug the red hose and plug it? What makes it spool up faster?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-08-2007, 04:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alvin, TX
Posts: 828
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
what does the red line do???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-08-2007, 04:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 4,230
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
can i do this for a 6.0?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-08-2007, 04:57 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The red line is a pressure line to that opens the wastegate. If you remove the line it will keep the wastegate closed longer and build boost faster. I don't think the 6.0's have a wastegate do they?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors