Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Need some performance help from someone smarter then myself

2K views 15 replies 4 participants last post by  HaterMotivater 
#1 ·
Hi guys I'm new to power stokes i had a cummins before this (good way to start off a post) lol but ive been building this truck for the past few months and I'm finally driving it around and now its time to do some upgrading ill fill you in on what i have

99 early model 7.3 4x4 has fully built HD trans with shift kit mag tech hi-cap pan bigger trans cooler billet multi disc converter 4 inch turbo back k&N intake and a diablo sport 3 tuner

I just went through the truck and replaced all the leaking seals so my motor has no leaks and it has the steel braided lines for the hpop i was told(i don't know much about that) but i keep getting a raspy noise from my turbo that's doesn't sound like it belongs so I'm preparing myself for a turbo upgrade here real soon and I'm not sure what to do... a buddy of mine has a stock turbo off an 02 with 10k miles he wants 500$ i was wondering if that would fit and if its worth the money and also any ideas on what i should upgrade to because truthfully im the kind of person who upgrades when thing break in the end i want a strong DD/pull truck every once and a while i like joining in the local tug a wars. id like to do injectors soon also i just haven't gotten any good guidance as of what to do. any help would be appreciated thank you!

#2 ·