DP Tuner is in my van!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2007, 05:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 213
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
DP Tuner is in my van!!!

I got the 80 econo and 120 race. Wow! Stock with only a BTM-I would get 13 lbs. Now it spikes to 25 instantly on the 120 race setting! But then the ses light comes on and boost and power drop way off. I am assuming (hoping) this is because of the overboost and the pcm defueling and not the hpop, so I ordered the annihilator from itp last night.

If you disconnect the f5 switch while the engine is running, it is supposed to hold whatever tune it was on, correct? Well I did this and the engine died. Plugged it back in and it started right up. Upon further inspection, there is a red wire that loops into a piece of shrink wrap that is disconnected, broken. I assume this is the wire that tells the pcm to hold the tune when the switch is disconnected? I taped the switch to the plug for now so it doesn't come apart while driving.

I will call Jody on Monday. I was careful routing the wire to the hole I put in my dash, so I don't think I broke it during install.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:41 AM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure on your question, but congrats on the new found power
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-25-2007, 12:52 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,781
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to Lord Tauk Send a message via AIM to Lord Tauk
You can't pull a chip and have the tune you pulled it on to still work, if you do all there will be is the stock programming. You're not supposed to take the chip out while it is running, that might severely mess something up. You can shut the truck off, etc. etc. then pull the chip, not while it is running.

If you had a programmer like an SCT, or an Edge.. it overwrites the computer whereas a chip just is a piggyback if you want to be on easy terms.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-25-2007, 12:56 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,359
Thanks: 23
Thanked 22 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
i agree with dave.... dont unplug it while your engine is running...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 213
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No-you guys are misunderstanding. I am talking about the switch on the dash that changes tunes, not the chip itself!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 213
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know where I got that I could remove the switch while it is running!!!!

Rereading the instructions, removing the switch will make the chip default to position 0, which for me is no start. That would explain why it dies.:bonk: :bonk:

So maybe that red wire isn't supposed to go anywhere.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors