stacking chips - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
stacking chips

right now i have a 7.3 powerstroke with a bullydog gt tunner and i was wondering if i could also have an edge ez performance chip in as well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,378
Thanks: 3
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
just one quick question........why? ur not gonna gain anything. The only reason an edge would ever be in my truck is for the CTS as just gauges.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hadley, Michigan/Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,070
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to thesmokinstroke02
Quote:
Originally Posted by powersmoke7.3 View Post
right now i have a 7.3 powerstroke with a bullydog gt tunner and i was wondering if i could also have an edge ez performance chip in as well
does the GT tuner have gauges? if so just keep it for that. you will gain more by getting a custom tuned 6 position chip than stacking 2 chips. these trucks arent 24v's or commonrails
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:54 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes the ft has gagues i also have a cluster gauge with egt tranny temp and boost how do u instal the edge ez performace chip
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,378
Thanks: 3
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
from what I understand just plug it into the OBD port.......agree with ^ custom tuned is the only way to go.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-03-2011, 02:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hadley, Michigan/Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,070
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to thesmokinstroke02
Quote:
Originally Posted by powersmoke7.3 View Post
yes the ft has gagues i also have a cluster gauge with egt tranny temp and boost how do u instal the edge ez performace chip
trust me you will notice more gains with a custom tuned chip....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-03-2011, 02:00 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: S.E. Kansas
Posts: 132
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you CAN NOT stack chips on 7.3... Bottom line.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-03-2011, 02:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
whats a good cheap custum tunned chip
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-03-2011, 02:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: S.E. Kansas
Posts: 132
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cheap....? You get what you pay for bud. A good "custom tuned" chip will cost you about $350-500

I know where to get them cheaper but they are not a site sponsor. And their tunes are highly recommended.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-03-2011, 02:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: williamsville ny
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to mxracer511 Send a message via Yahoo to mxracer511
custom tune is definately the way to go i finally just got my tw in and got rid of my hypertech and its a hell of alot better even on a low setting
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors