tc lock up mod - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2010, 06:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: keokuk iowa
Posts: 152
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tc lock up mod

so does anybody know how to wire up the tc lock up mod? im needing to do this since im making my EBPV into an exhaust break
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-21-2010, 07:24 PM
Chapter Director
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 2,214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
look in the engine compartment, on the driverside fender well there is 4 connectors IIRC its the one toward the front of the truck and there is a Purple w/ yellow trace wire. you tap into that wire, run it into the cab to a switch, ground the other side of the switch, it may cause your OD light to flash, and throw a P0741 code because the PCM wants the TC unlocked while its manually locked. also dont keep it locked under 25mph
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-21-2010, 07:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: keokuk iowa
Posts: 152
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i was told i couldnt do that cause i might send 12 volts to the pcm and fry it?? anybody know if this is true or not?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-21-2010, 09:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Stephenville Tx.
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check out the tech files there is a link there. good luck try not to fry anything and do it right
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-21-2010, 09:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: keokuk iowa
Posts: 152
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i got to thinking, could i splice a ground into that wire, and put a diode after the splice so 12volts couldn't run back through the system? like wire a ground to the switch and cut the wire under the dash, and wire them together, then connect a diode to it and connect the other end of the diode to the wire going to the tranny, would that keep it from frying the computer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-21-2010, 10:02 PM
Chapter Director
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 2,214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the way i said to do it has no 12volt current at all, so its safe, the way you are thinking of has a setup to keep the OD light from flashing.

all your doing is grounding out the TC lockup solinoid. no power at all
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-21-2010, 10:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: keokuk iowa
Posts: 152
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how long have you been running your truck this way? and whats thee lowest mph and rpm to have this on?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-22-2010, 04:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Delaware
Posts: 164
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
freeeride is correct. Its just grounding out the wire. I have been running this for a long time. Yes, it will flash the OD light when its on but no big deal. The way your talking about doing it with diodes and such will stop the soft codes and OD light flash as freeride said. Its a bit more complex...look here Welcome to guzzle's TC Lockup Mod Web Page
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-22-2010, 09:31 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: keokuk iowa
Posts: 152
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
okay, so whats the lowest mph and rpms i could run this at? and how do i test it to make sure its working rights after i hook it up???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-22-2010, 11:59 AM
Supporting Vendor
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
You WILL know if if it's working when you flip the switch. Put it in gear and while stopped, flip the switch. It ought to kill the engine dead instantly.


I wouldn't command a torque converter clutch apply at anything below 1500 RPM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors