edge evolution intermittent - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2010, 03:41 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
edge evolution intermittent

hello all

I just purchased a '00 PSD CC LB. It came with an edge evolution, 4 inch mbrp exhaust, and new stock turbocharger and pedastal.

the evolution was not loaded so I went to load it up and when I plugged it in it came up with an error saying that it could not communicate with the PCM. I fiddled with the OBDII port and then the evolution loaded. I set it to 100hp tune (race I think). I started it up after loaded and put my daughter in her car seat and drove off. the edge prompty shut off. I fiddled with the wires and it came on then went off.

any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-26-2010, 05:40 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Commerce, GA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My 99 is doing the same thing. It says unable to communicate with PCM, but no matter what I do, it wont work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-26-2010, 08:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrisville UT
Posts: 556
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black_7.3 View Post
My 99 is doing the same thing. It says unable to communicate with PCM, but no matter what I do, it wont work.
Check the fuse for the ciggarette lighter it also runs the OBDII port also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-27-2010, 06:07 PM
Supporting Vendor
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The OBD2 cables on those are notorious for having connectivity issues. Get a new one from Edge before you lock up your unit while programming (which will require a PCM reflash if it happens...and your truck won't run).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-28-2010, 07:05 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Commerce, GA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHPDiesel View Post
The OBD2 cables on those are notorious for having connectivity issues. Get a new one from Edge before you lock up your unit while programming (which will require a PCM reflash if it happens...and your truck won't run).
A new cable or a new procrammer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-28-2010, 07:24 AM
Supporting Vendor
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHPDiesel View Post
The OBD2 cables on those are notorious for having connectivity issues.
Read above.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-28-2010, 07:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Commerce, GA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHPDiesel View Post
Read above.
ah, gotcha. Thanks for the insight!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:11 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how much do the new cables run? I need to take that price and divide by 2 then subtract $10 and thats what I will tell my wife! ;-)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-29-2010, 06:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,828
Thanks: 4
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpowerstroke View Post
how much do the new cables run? I need to take that price and divide by 2 then subtract $10 and thats what I will tell my wife! ;-)
.........yea I had/have to do the same thing, and I would look at their website and check, er check with CT performance or Paul @ stealth both seem to have what u would need.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-29-2010, 09:53 AM
Supporting Vendor
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Call Edge directly. Usually, they'll just give you one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors