8 position tuner??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old 09-17-2010, 05:08 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
8 position tuner???

Hello all. I am new to to forum and new to the diesel community. I bought my truck used with a tuner already installed. I have been trying to find out what tuner chip i have without taking the pcm apart. It does not have gauges so i have been warry in driving out of the stock setting. My tuner is a dial knob with 8 positions:

1. High Idle (12noon going clockwise)
2. Valet (wont go over 67mph)
3. Stock
4. 50? (little kick)
5. 75? (about same as #4 but maybe a bit more)
6. 100? (havent driven here but acts similar to #5)
7. ??? (idle bumps up when sitting, havent driven)
8. ??? (still has high idle)

I am going to be doing some towing with the truck and want to make sure i am driving on correct settings and know what is in my truck. If anyone could shed some light it would be greatly appreciated. If i just need to pull the chip i can do that too, just thought i would try this first. thanks

Josh
tsuxjfreak is offline  
post #2 of 19 Old 09-17-2010, 05:18 PM
O.I.F. Combat Vet 11B
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: tallahassee
Posts: 1,048
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Just tow in stock or the 50 setting and you will be fine. Just don't dog it on hills

2000 f250 crew cab 4x4 6sp manual, Jim Rosewood 238/100 hybrids, gtp 38r, srp1.1 hpop, DP-Tuner! Driven diesel fuel sys!
269,xxx and counting!!

ju015dd is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 09-17-2010, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That was my plan for now. All the tuners i have seen were only 6 position so I was just wondering if there was a brand I missed. It just seemed like the positioning of the tunes was different than anything i had researched. Thanks
tsuxjfreak is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 09-17-2010, 09:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
444 ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: lancaster ohio
Posts: 443
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check the washer behind the position switch it should have L shape on the end make sure the L shaped part is in the number 6 hole

444 ci is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 09-17-2010, 09:59 PM
riddin' high
 
Dasaliac03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: gastonia NC
Posts: 2,878
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Dasaliac03 Send a message via Skype™ to Dasaliac03
sounds like the TW(not sure what kind of "switch" they use) or the banks 6 gun????? sounds like to me not sure. PCM is easy to pull, you cant tear it up while removing.


this isnt "good advice" but ill say it anyways, if you egts or tranny is going to get too hot, you will know it. truck comes factory with a trans temp?my pops 00 and his 02 did.

and when your egts get a little "too" high, your FACTORY ODOMETER GAUGES will read hot lol we found that out on his 02 not too long ago

if none of that helps you out, oh well ha im on my phone bored out of my gord


SOLD - '03 7.3, MBRP, 38r, DP F5, HPX, RR, DIY 6637, 05 OEM Harley front, 08 OEM rear & mirrors, 20" Moto Metal, 35" Nitto's

Current - '11 6.7 FX4 Larait, Ready Lift 3.5" Leveling Kit, '13 Larait Wheels
Dasaliac03 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 09-17-2010, 11:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
azkcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Borger & College Station TX
Posts: 5,313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dasaliac03 View Post
sounds like the TW(not sure what kind of "switch" they use) or the banks 6 gun????? sounds like to me not sure. PCM is easy to pull, you cant tear it up while removing.


this isnt "good advice" but ill say it anyways, if you egts or tranny is going to get too hot, you will know it. truck comes factory with a trans temp?my pops 00 and his 02 did.

and when your egts get a little "too" high, your FACTORY ODOMETER GAUGES will read hot lol we found that out on his 02 not too long ago

if none of that helps you out, oh well ha im on my phone bored out of my gord
EGT= exhaust gas temperatures (I know the OP would ask what it stood for. lol)
and I doubt it's the Banks 6-gun b/c they don't offer a high idle or a valet. At least mine didn't when I had it.

Ben Conner
LSP Assistant Director

Got every PSD made...
My DD: '13 6.7L with Optimus Prime's wanker still on the exhaust

azkcr is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 09-18-2010, 07:13 AM
DJM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Springfield ,OR
Posts: 796
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My guess is it's a DP tuner if it has more than 6 positions I could be wrong but I thought all the TS style chips only went to 6 positions

2001 Crew Cab, Auto
6in lift, 37Toyo's
DP F6 60eco,80tow,80eco,120
Wicked Wheel
Foil Delete
Isspro EV2 Guages
HPX Line
RiffRaff FRx
4" Exhaust
AFE Big Boost
FS 2500 Filter


DJM is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 09-18-2010, 12:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
azkcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Borger & College Station TX
Posts: 5,313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJM View Post
My guess is it's a DP tuner if it has more than 6 positions I could be wrong but I thought all the TS style chips only went to 6 positions
That's what I was thinking. And DP tuners are great for the 7.3

Ben Conner
LSP Assistant Director

Got every PSD made...
My DD: '13 6.7L with Optimus Prime's wanker still on the exhaust

azkcr is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 09-18-2010, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Correction

I haves correction to make. I was playing with the knob today and realized it actually has 10 positions. This would lead me to think it is a DP cause they were the only ones I saw with something infield wording that sounded like a 6 position with 4 custom tunes. Can u remove the chip and get a number of somesort that I can contact DP with to find out exactly what tunes it has?? Thanks all for the info sorry about the faulty facts. -josh
tsuxjfreak is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 09-18-2010, 01:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
BullyDogJason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pocatello, Idaho
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 444 ci View Post
check the washer behind the position switch it should have L shape on the end make sure the L shaped part is in the number 6 hole
This is what i was thinking too..

the little dog leg washer has moved.. id glue it into the #6 hole
BullyDogJason is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome