Eyelet on wastegate? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2010, 08:02 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Eyelet on wastegate?

Would threading in or out the eyelet on the wastegate gain me any boost pressure?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: in my body...oooh Sacramento California
Posts: 1,420
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 88kevina View Post
Would threading in or out the eyelet on the wastegate gain me any boost pressure?
i think i turned mine in two turns
thats what a local shop told me i could do
since ive done that ive unhooked the red line completely
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-10-2010, 07:26 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
When I put my Banks kit in, its been a long time but I think the directions told me to tighten it 6 turns in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-10-2010, 07:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Terre Haute IN
Posts: 297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
can u adjust the stock waste gate acuator?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-10-2010, 07:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: in my body...oooh Sacramento California
Posts: 1,420
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by panheadjay View Post
can u adjust the stock waste gate acuator?


you can i did it to mine BUT be careful to not break the rod
i sprayed some PB BLASTER on it before i adjusted it
also go slow
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-10-2010, 07:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sparta,Michigan
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so if i have the red line unplugged, will adjusting the rod do anything? if it does, how do i adjust it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-10-2010, 08:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Terre Haute IN
Posts: 297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did adjusting it help much? right now i have a power surge between 1700 and 2000 rpms and then it mellows out, just wondering if i tinker with this it will help?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-10-2010, 08:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: in my body...oooh Sacramento California
Posts: 1,420
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieWeinerDog View Post
so if i have the red line unplugged, will adjusting the rod do anything? if it does, how do i adjust it?

no if you unplug the red line it will NOT help with holding more boost
i adjusted mine & then after a couple days i decided to unplug the red line completely, but i drive by my gauges. i am constantly watching my gauges even if im not towing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-10-2010, 08:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: in my body...oooh Sacramento California
Posts: 1,420
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by panheadjay View Post
did adjusting it help much? right now i have a power surge between 1700 and 2000 rpms and then it mellows out, just wondering if i tinker with this it will help?

not sure on the surge (maybe someone else will chime in) but if you have gauges just unplug it to see if the surge goes away. remember to put it on the bolt on the clamp that clamps the air to air hose
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-10-2010, 08:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Terre Haute IN
Posts: 297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
its been unpluged for a long time now, waste gate capped and the line to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors