Edge Insight CTS FWIW - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2010, 09:11 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Edge Insight CTS FWIW

Purchased an Edge Insight CTS for my 99.5 Powerstroke last week and had a couple issues. Just posting my experience in case anyone is contemplating a purchase of this unit.

First, I have an SCT X3 SF programmer from Dp-Tuner. It seems that after the tunes are applied and returned to stock, the vehicle VIN does not get laid back down on the truck ECM. When initializing the Insight gauges, if the VIN is not there you will only show 4 PID's (RPM, MAP, Speed, Corrected Speed). I phoned SCT yesterday regarding this. They took my stock file, inserted the VIN, e-mailed it back and I now have a full set of PID's (Boost, Trans temp, intake air temp, TCL status, oil temp, etc.)

Next, there seems to be a glitch with the Insight unit in that after you install a tune and then re-initialize the gauges (essentially plugging it back in to the OBDII port and running thru their wizard wich asks for vehicle type, etc.) the vehicle will not start until you turn the key off and then back on again. Edge tech support indicated they will send this qwirk up to engineering and they will get back to me within 2-weeks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-20-2010, 09:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: cherryvale
Posts: 1,628
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i had the understanding that cts was more made for the 04+powerstrokes? is this why u dont have many PIDS? or is it DIff than the old insight?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-20-2010, 09:35 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,142
Thanks: 115
Thanked 104 Times in 95 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
The CTS will work with both of the trucks.

The reason you see more PID's with the 6.0's and 6.4's is the fact that they use CAN protocols. There are more PID's available
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors