10k mod not workin - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2010, 05:00 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
10k mod not workin

ok im tryin to put this thing on a switch got the right wires hooked up to! i got a witch that glows but idk if it does n i have i wired from the harness wire through 22ga wire soldered to my resistor then to the switch then back to the other wire when switch is off truck runs normal when i turn it on it lopes and no power like normal or when u just put the stupid resistor in any help what did i do wrong?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-17-2010, 06:05 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,826
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by teambluemxer View Post
ok im tryin to put this thing on a switch got the right wires hooked up to! i got a witch that glows but idk if it does n i have i wired from the harness wire through 22ga wire soldered to my resistor then to the switch then back to the other wire when switch is off truck runs normal when i turn it on it lopes and no power like normal or when u just put the stupid resistor in any help what did i do wrong?
Gonna need some pictures of that glowing witch.

For a switch with a indicator light, you will have three connections to make. You need a 12v source, return to whatever your running and a ground. This won't work directly for what your doing. For the ICP resistor mod, you need to have the switch connected to both wires on the ICP with a resistor in series.

To make the switch you have work, you need a 12v normally open relay. You will use four contacts on the relay. The two switched contacts will be connected to the ICP wires with the resistor in series on one of the wires. The two remaining contacts will have one ground and one 12v feed coming from the switch. The switch will have a 12v source, a output to the relay and a ground.

Another method would be a double pole switch and separate indicator lamp. You would have four connections on the switch, two connected to the ICP wires with a resistor in series and the other two would power a lamp. One connected to 12v, one to the lamp and the second connection on the lamp to ground.

Last edited by JSchuricht; 07-17-2010 at 06:10 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-18-2010, 04:37 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wow THANKS YOU ill try this possibly later if i got time n i will post the pic of that switch for ya
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-18-2010, 02:46 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
will heat from a heat gun destory these resistors? because its lopin really bad and theres no power what so ever when i flip the switch also my e brake lights come on
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-18-2010, 02:47 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchuricht View Post
Gonna need some pictures of that glowing witch.

For a switch with a indicator light, you will have three connections to make. You need a 12v source, return to whatever your running and a ground. This won't work directly for what your doing. For the ICP resistor mod, you need to have the switch connected to both wires on the ICP with a resistor in series.

To make the switch you have work, you need a 12v normally open relay. You will use four contacts on the relay. The two switched contacts will be connected to the ICP wires with the resistor in series on one of the wires. The two remaining contacts will have one ground and one 12v feed coming from the switch. The switch will have a 12v source, a output to the relay and a ground.

Another method would be a double pole switch and separate indicator lamp. You would have four connections on the switch, two connected to the ICP wires with a resistor in series and the other two would power a lamp. One connected to 12v, one to the lamp and the second connection on the lamp to ground.
ya.. any ideas now?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-18-2010, 02:54 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: alabamer
Posts: 1,078
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to harley1rocker Send a message via Skype™ to harley1rocker
dont do it.get a tw chip.he tweaks the icp....no need
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-18-2010, 03:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by harley1rocker View Post
dont do it.get a tw chip.he tweaks the icp....no need
good idea if i had a lotta money right now... thanks tho.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-18-2010, 10:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
u fryed the resister. cause 10k doesnt give u a lopy idle. 1.5k or just str8 touching the two wire together(no resister)

what i did was tap into the two wires, ran them back and put the resister on on wire(by a butt connector) then to the switch
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-20-2010, 12:15 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiyrs View Post
u fryed the resister. cause 10k doesnt give u a lopy idle. 1.5k or just str8 touching the two wire together(no resister)

what i did was tap into the two wires, ran them back and put the resister on on wire(by a butt connector) then to the switch
doesnt work any more idk why it lopes and acts like its no resistor and i have them hooker up to the bottom pin and the top left pin with wire clips
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-20-2010, 01:11 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,826
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Pull the plug off the ICP sensor and connect a multimeter to the end. Set the multimeter to read ohms. Post the reading from the switch in both positions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors