stalling after chip install - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 07-16-2010, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
oldbluef250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
stalling after chip install

Ok, so I feel like a newb asking this cuz I've done plenty to the 96 with little to no issues, but I just installed a BDP chip in my dads 03 7.3 and every now and then it will just stall when your driving it. It will only happen when you let off of the throttle. It wont start back up right away, you just have to cycle the key a few times and if the glow plug light goes out, then theres a good chance it will fire back up. It will do it any chip setting, but once you get it fired back up, it might only run for a few seconds and then shutt off again but it might run fine too. I think that I cleaned the contacts fine good cuz the high idle works and the settings work like they should. I dont think its the cps either because the truck ran great before the chip, inless I somehow fried the cps when installing the chip. I have a spare cps sitting around if thats the issue.
oldbluef250 is offline  
post #2 of 20 Old 07-16-2010, 05:03 PM
Member
 
FORD_F-350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ridgeville IN
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i would get it hooked up to ae and see wat your icp reads and check all your sensors

Early 1999 F-350 cc drw 4x4 Auto.
4in exhaust
K&N intake
GDS wastegate
GDS fuel spring
Boost fooler
Heavy duty torque converter
Shift Kit
17* Hpop
TW tuned
Tru Cool Max Tranny Cooler
Freshly rebuilt turbo
LOOKING FOR A D66
FORD_F-350 is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 07-16-2010, 05:10 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: alabamer
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to harley1rocker Send a message via Skype™ to harley1rocker
take the chip out or set it back to stock.see what you got then.if it is a chip issue,call bdp.see what they say,if it does the same thing with the chip out,then get accsess to a scanner,see what your ipr values are,icp,things like that.it sounds like a fuel issue or may be a hpop issue.you might have trash in the pick ups in the tank,fuel reg screen might be clogged.to many variables.hook it to a scanner,process of elimination really
harley1rocker is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 07-16-2010, 05:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Flapdisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had the same problem on my other 02 when i put an MCN diesel chip in it. It had 5 or 6 different tunes also. The first time it did it, i didnt clean off the contacts off enough, and the second time it was the CPS.... It would cut off while doin 45 or idling, or sometimes it wouldnt start at all for a few minutes...
Flapdisk is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 07-16-2010, 06:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
choupique108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 3,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you could have cleaned the contacts TOO much.

1997 Single Cab Dually, S366 w/ Irate mount and plenums, EFuel, Intercooler, P.I.S 175/80s, Corbeau seats w 08 console, 19.5s, 6637, Black Interior with swede headliner and visors, Custom badges, Flight Fab Traction Bars.
choupique108 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 07-16-2010, 07:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I had the same issue with my chip. Luckely I had a local guy install it when I bought it and he warranties his work. What he did was cleaned the contacts a little more on the PCM, changed the switch wire out with a new one, and (what I actually think was wrong) where the chip plugs into the PCM, and the PCM actually fits into the black plastic peace that holds it, he had the wire folded basically, because the chip plugs in the back of the PCM and then the wire for the switch had to run from that to the dash, so the wire was folded from the back to come out the front and I think that was causing the chip to move (my truck would also do the same thing if I had the E brake on and would pull the lever to let the brake up and it would "jar" the PCM) so I think the chip was kind of loose. To fix this he took the black cover that holds the PCM and drilled a 3/8" hole in it so the wire could go straight out the back and not have that 90 degree bend in that holder that holds the PCM. So far it has not done it since. Hope this helps.
tysonmatc2 is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 07-16-2010, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
oldbluef250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tysonmatc2 View Post
I had the same issue with my chip. Luckely I had a local guy install it when I bought it and he warranties his work. What he did was cleaned the contacts a little more on the PCM, changed the switch wire out with a new one, and (what I actually think was wrong) where the chip plugs into the PCM, and the PCM actually fits into the black plastic peace that holds it, he had the wire folded basically, because the chip plugs in the back of the PCM and then the wire for the switch had to run from that to the dash, so the wire was folded from the back to come out the front and I think that was causing the chip to move (my truck would also do the same thing if I had the E brake on and would pull the lever to let the brake up and it would "jar" the PCM) so I think the chip was kind of loose. To fix this he took the black cover that holds the PCM and drilled a 3/8" hole in it so the wire could go straight out the back and not have that 90 degree bend in that holder that holds the PCM. So far it has not done it since. Hope this helps.
I think thats probably what my issue could be. My chip wire is bent back around that pcm holder so I will have to try and drill a hole in the front of it. I have access to a computer at a local dealership, so if this doesnt fix the problem, I will just hook up a computer to it. It has to do something with the chip though cause it ran perfect, like stock 7.3 should, and it never quit or anything. My dad has had it since it was new so I know it has been well mantained.
oldbluef250 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 07-17-2010, 03:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Mine ran great before the chip and great after the chip for about 2 weeks and then started with the issues.
tysonmatc2 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 08-15-2010, 11:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dannanw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,302
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 72 Times in 65 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
old issue in know but I now am having that same issue, did drilling a hole help? also I get a 1280 DTC when it happens.

What this nation needs is cleaner thoughts and dirtier fingernails...
dannanw is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 08-15-2010, 05:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
mine is still running great, but we did switch out the cable for the chip too, so it could have been one or the other but I still say drilling the hole and running the cable straight through the back of that holder vs. putting a tight 90 degree bend on it was the issue.

2012 F-250 Crew Cab

2002 F-350 Crew Cab SRW (Gone but not forgotten)
4x4
6 speed
DIY Intake
Custom 6637 Pre Filter
4" Turbo Back Hog Performance Exhaust
SCT Multi-Position Chip
Iss Pro Gauges
2" Leveling Kit
285/75/16 BF Goodrich AT's
FRx Fuel Rail Crossover
HPx High Pressure Crossover
OCR Boost Fooler
CCV Mod
Turbomaster Actuator
Rough Country Dual Steering Stabilizer
16x9 Moto Metal Wheels
WISH LIST: 05-07 Conversion
tysonmatc2 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome