DP Tuner - F5 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2010, 06:15 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question DP Tuner - F5

Curious to know if anyone who owns one of these units has had any intermittent connection issues? I currently own the set up. Power is great, worked excellent until recently. I have the pushbutton box sitting on top of my steering colum so perhaps that's the issue (need to mount it somewhere a bit more rigid), but while driving my truck has died a couple of times and I've noticed my unit does a reset as if I just cycled the power on the truck. I also noticed my engine lopes at idle, but if I squeeze the wires into the right position, the loping goes away. Anyone else? I've sent an email to Jody and am now awaiting a response. He's been great in the past with support so hope to hear back soon.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-24-2010, 08:31 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you clean your connections good on the PCM? Does the chip that goes in the PCM seem to be tight? I havent has this issue but Just giving you some ideas to check. Are the wires pinched on the wire going to the controller can you tell?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-24-2010, 09:12 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the response. Yes, the contacts on both boards look to be clean. Both connectors for the wire between the the controller and the board look to be clean as well. I'm thinking maybe the wiring harness itself might be the issue. I wish they would have designed it with locking connectors and maybe a bit more of a rigid wire to connector termination, maybe a strain relief of some sort so you're not tugging on the wires if the controller is moved. I think maybe one of the wires in the harness is intermittent. I did a resistance check and they seem to be fine, but if it's intermittent, it's tough to find.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-24-2010, 12:54 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would like to mention I've received EXCELLENT customer service from James at DP Tuner. I emailed them earlier today and received a response back within an hour. Even with Jody being out, they still continue to offer excellent service. Thanks DP! May be in need of a new cable for the unit. Again I will mention that this could very well be to the lack of me mounting the switch box on something rigid and the cable being bounced around on top of the steering column. Maybe someone has a better idea or experience on where a good place to mount this would be?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-24-2010, 01:51 PM
riddin' high
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: gastonia NC
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Dasaliac03 Send a message via Skype™ to Dasaliac03
hmmm, if your wires on the unit itself have wiggned loose it may do that. take your dial off and look at the connector, shove all the wires in it to where it make a good strong connection and wrap it with electrical tape. try talking to Dennis over at Sinisterdiesel.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-24-2010, 02:00 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I got the same setup as you, but I got the gauge mount plate that you can get. It just hooks around the bezel of your gauge and doesn't wiggle at all. Good mount spot too! on your original post, I have not had that problem at all. DP makes a GREAT product!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors