Is my TS working - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2010, 10:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wahoo
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is my TS working

I have a 2000 7.3 powerstroke with exhaust, intake, and now a TS chip. I had a diesel shop put it in for me and idk if they did it right. I got the Stock, High idle, 50,75,100,140. I cant tell the difference i dont think and when its on 140 witch is the 6th setting there is no smoke. Should the high idle kick in right when the chip is set on that? i would be able to hear the difference right, cause it sounds the same.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-04-2010, 10:14 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,593
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They must not have installed it properly. Your high idle will happen immediately. Should bump it up to around 1,100 rpm. And you most definitely should be rolling the coal in your 140 HP tune. Heck all of those tunes will blow smoke. But the 140 no doubt.

Are you sure high idle is your second setting and not your last? Both chips I've had put high idle at the end so i didn't accidentally switch into it at a red light and rear end the car in front of me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-04-2010, 10:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmonton Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to 03_Turbo7.3
140 should role coal like no tomorrow!..they deff f'ed up somewhere..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-05-2010, 02:52 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GRanite Falls NC
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just put one in mine. How does your shift'n into high gear feel mine is violent. May be calling PHP or Tony. Mine on the low setting want role that much coal. On 100 it gets on with it, but on 140 I can make a thunderstorm cloud LOL!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-05-2010, 03:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: hoquiam, wa
Posts: 852
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJKS STROKER View Post
I just put one in mine. How does your shift'n into high gear feel mine is violent. May be calling PHP or Tony. Mine on the low setting want role that much coal. On 100 it gets on with it, but on 140 I can make a thunderstorm cloud LOL!!!!!!!!!!!

I just put a TS in my truck a few weeks ago and im having the same thing happen with my tranny slam into high gear but it does have an ATS in it too so iono if its the chip or a combo of both.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-05-2010, 06:26 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GRanite Falls NC
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think (no dis-respect to anyone) that the TS chip is just like the rest of the programmers. It will run in all models that it is intended for. I think to get the most out of a truck its going to have to have custom tunes. I know a guy that's got an 03 7.3 with a TS chip and it does the same I thought it just might be his tranny actting up but I guess I was wrong, cause it's doing mine the same way. Going to make some phone calls soon.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-05-2010, 06:43 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,359
Thanks: 23
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
they didnt install it correctly... they prob didnt clean the contacts well enough....

-Raul
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-05-2010, 09:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: hoquiam, wa
Posts: 852
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raul@Stealth Automotive View Post
they didnt install it correctly... they prob didnt clean the contacts well enough....

-Raul


So do you think that i should pull the plug in outta the pcm and clean the contact area alil bit better? and what do you think would work best to clean the contact area so i wont have this problem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-05-2010, 10:13 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to billydakid1567
yeah deff. cleean the contacts good .. mine i thought was cleaned off enough but went to start it and cranked and cranked but wouldnt fire then after a good hard srcub with and sos pad works like a charm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-06-2010, 04:20 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GRanite Falls NC
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cleaning it will help on the starting and the way it function. But what keeps it from slamming into high gear?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors