Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

01 f350 starting issues

683 views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  Justin@DP-Tuner 
#1 ·
Hey guys I'm new to the diesel world and have some questions...To start off with my pickup wouldn't start one day and I noticed I didn't get my wait to start light and my programmer never turned on. I cycled the key on and off a few times and nothing changed so I called my mechanic and he walked me through a few things and after I pulled my pcm fuse and checked it and plugged it back in everything fired normally and the truck started...didn't think to much of it until it did it again like a month later but this time it happened to be at the ford dealership we plugged it in to the computer and got a couple of codes the mechanic wasn't familiar with saying communication error from pcm to idm. I changed the idm and it didn't help the problem we pulled the wiring harness between the idm and pcm and it checked out fine so we then unplugged my programmer and it started working so I thought my programmer was doing something funny. drove it home when it was completely back to stock no programmer hooked up and it did it again so I let it sit over night went back out and tried it and it all worked great again so I hooked my programmer back up to see if it would do it again and nothing hooked and unhooked it put it on tow mode that i usually drive on and it has ran great ever since...lastnight i drove it home from work which is about 20 miles and it ran flawlessly turned it off ran inside for about 20 minutes went back out to leave and when i went to start it this time my wait to start light came on i can hear the relays click but it just turns over and wont start i tried it a few times...my tach moves up it did seem like my wait to start light went out quickly a couple of times but I'm lost and it seems as though the mechanic at the dealer ship is lost...am i looking at needing a new pcm or a sensor somewhere? any help would be great..Thanks!