Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Water Seperator?????

1K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  gtmgooser 
#1 ·
Guys, I have a 2000 F250 4x2 with the 7.3 turbo. I was talking with my neighbor lastnight and he was draining the water seperator on his 08 Super Duty. I didn't realize it was something that needed to be done from time to time. Where in the heck do I find this on my 2000? It hasn't been drained since I purchased it last year so I'm sure it's due.

Please help the new guy here...

Thanks,
George

#2 ·
if it's the same as my 01, i'm not sure as i'm new to diesels myself. There is a yellow valve right behind the fuel filter that you open. Someone told me to drain it for about 30 seconds or until you see clean fuel. I hope this helps, if i'm wrong someone please correct me so I don't give wrong info and that i'm not doing this wrong myself.

#3 ·
Idrain minbe every 6 months.

#4 ·
Driver's Side Right below the back cab,,6MM Allen Key Remove & drain about 15 seconds till you get only Diesel draining out!

#5 ·
Huh? Nothing like that on my 2000. Your signature also says you performed a DPF delete on a 2003 truck? That's pretty tough to do since the first DPFs weren't put on until several years later.

The water seperator is the same thing as the fuel filter on our 7.3 trucks and the water is drained by turning that yellow lever on the fuel bowl. Don't do it with the engine running since it is under about 60 psi of pressure. Do expect the diesel to make a mess of your engine as it drains the diesel from a spout right at the front of the pside head, and don't do it too often.

That last one is maybe just a paranoid fear since the last time I messed with that valve I had to replace the O-rings since they started leaking fuel all all the time which is very common on these trucks these days. I don't plan to use that water drain unless I have a problem or unless I change the fuel filter since those O-rings are a pain in the butt.

#6 ·
x2