Turbo bolt missing? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2009, 07:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ford_trck
Turbo bolt missing?

So I was looking under the hood of the truck and I noticed I had a turbo bolt missing. After going to Ford and saying they can't get the bolts I did some research of my own because I remember seeing something about this. This is a PDF file so it may take a minute to load look on page 8
http://www.forddoctorsdts.com/public...argerGuide.pdf

My question is has anyone had to do this? It is TSB 3-14-09 and do you think I should take my turbo off to chase the threads in the turbo?
Thanks for your input guys


Last edited by ford_trck; 04-05-2009 at 07:53 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ford_trck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:24 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ruger#1
why go to ford, go to your international dealer, Might be a little better at help there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ford_trck
The international dealer here are a bunch of tards, they don't know anything and they never have any parts. I've learned that a few times already
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ruger#1
Cant you get the jobber parts store to match up the bolt. and i would clean the bolt hole out with a light wire brush , Like the ones used for gun cleaning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ford_trck
The bolts from the TSB have an interferance thread I guess. I get parts from Ford for cost so I'm going to see how much they are going to charge me and go from there
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ruger#1
Find out if they use lock tight or something similar to it, Did you have a funny sound or a lose of power. I better go and check on mine , and see if anything is missing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ford_trck
No noises or anything I was just checking my oil and stuff and said O CRAP!!. I can see there is a small exhaust leak there though I need to get it fixed because I don't want to install a new H2E turbo yet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-05-2009, 01:56 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
happened to me on 2 different trucks.. Got just the bolts from ford and put them back in with some anti seize and never had another problem...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors