Leveling kit problems! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2009, 05:58 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Peabody, MA
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Leveling kit problems!

Ok I just finished installing my leveling kit that i bought off ebay. It is made by maxx-lift. I un bolted the lower end of the sway bar and put the leveling block and ubolts together and couldnt get the sway bar to match up with the hole again. Its off by about an inch...Do i need to get a bigger one? Please help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-08-2009, 06:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 419
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You may have to flip the sway bar brackets from the inside of the frame to the bottom of the frame. Thats what I had to do
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-08-2009, 06:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 419
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Let us know how it works out. Oh yeah, one more thing:

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-08-2009, 06:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Orleans Indiana
Posts: 402
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2X on flipping the brackets! That ought to work for ya.. I got the same lift on my truck but I had no problems!! But I also didn't take my sway bar loose either
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-09-2009, 03:29 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 40 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You need to use a adjustable or reloactable trac bar bracket. I prefer the adjustable trac bar. Otherwise you axle is 5/8 to 3/4" off center.

NCH
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-09-2009, 04:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Union City, IN
Posts: 862
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Big_Stroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHornet View Post
You need to use a adjustable or reloactable trac bar bracket. I prefer the adjustable trac bar. Otherwise you axle is 5/8 to 3/4" off center.

NCH
Adjustable trac bar is the best way to go with this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-09-2009, 01:09 PM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,017
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
You guys are talking about two different things.
The op says swaybar, but it sounds like he means tracbar...

Either way you're covered. If it is the swaybar endlinks, you can flip the mounting brackets. Thats what I did. If it is the tracbar, I have a tracbar relocation bracket on mine and have no problems yet, although an adjustable tracbar is preffered. pricey though IMO
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-09-2009, 08:25 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Peabody, MA
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok yea i think i goofed, I think i am talking about the track bar, i feel like dink now haha. I will have to take a picture tomorrow and then someone may be able to tell me what i need to do. thanks for all the help guys!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-09-2009, 08:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 3,196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHornet View Post
You need to use a adjustable or reloactable trac bar bracket. I prefer the adjustable trac bar. Otherwise you axle is 5/8 to 3/4" off center.

NCH
Well said, If it is still tough after getting the adjustable trac bar ends, Loosen the upper trac bar bracket, Bolt the trac bar the the upper bracket, Then tighten the bracket back up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-11-2009, 04:47 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Peabody, MA
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I finally got around to taking pictures...You can see where the bolt is missing. I dont know exactly what this is even called? What can I do to get it back in line? thanks guys!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors