Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

newbie here.... 7.3 vs 6.0 ???

2K views 23 replies 15 participants last post by  Nosparkplugs 
#1 ·
Hey yall,

Can you guys that have driven both 7.3 and 6.0 powered SD's tell me what you thought about seat of the pants feel, and fuel mileage?

My personal experience is this...
My first SD was a 99 5.4L (I know, I'm so ashamed..... :doh:). My second was an 03 6.0L CC Lariat with every option. That engine was awesome but I only put 23k miles on it before trading it for an 02 vette (and a pile of cash).

I've never owned a 7.3L but test drove two 01's last year. Both were sitting on 35's, and both were absolute dogs. My 88 F-150 with 180 HP 302 sitting on 35's has considerably better pep than either of those 7.3's, and mine's annoyingly slow! Maybe those two trucks were not the norm, IDK.

So I'm looking for another SD and not sure which engine I want. What do you guys think that have put a lot of miles on both? Are the 7.3's really that much slower/less responsive than the 6.0? What kind of mileage are/were you getting in each (tuned or not)? Mileage isn't as important performance, but it's still something I think about. I generally put a lot of miles on a vehicle.

Thanks,
Cliff

See less See more
#2 ·
well ive had a 99.5 and an 01 and both of them were stock and both hauled a$$ they got 13 to 15 in town and 17 to 18 on the highway but my 03 was a dog when i got it no that responsive and very sluggish until the chip then it woke up i think i know why its sluggish but yea thats my experience

#3 ·
I'd guess that the 2 strokes you drove and didn't like weren't regeared when they were lifted. Is your 150 regeared by chance?