Truck will not run when you let off the brake - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 02-21-2009, 09:43 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
Exclamation Truck will not run when you let off the brake

Well just like the title said. I was at work a couple weeks ago and we needed to move our cars. I went to start the truck and all i heard was a clicking noise. It went away and started up. To be safe i drove home and picked up my car.
Next day tried to start the truck, same clicking noise but this wouldnt allow the truck to start if it was clicking.
Heard the noise coming from the fuse panel and it was the Injector driver module relay. Go to the store buy a new one.. same problem with clicking but i can start the truck and then dies after 15 seconds.
Now if I apply my foot to the brake the truck will start up and run with no problem. The minute i let my foot off the brake the truck shuts down and the relay will start clicking again. Im sorta at a lose right now. My lease is due in like two weeks and I have a truck that wont run. Does anyone have any ideas.
I pulled my tune off the truck as well for safety and to eliminate one problem. Im not sure if its the Computer thats going nuts or the Fuse panel is toast. Chime in if anyone knows something

2003 F-250 Crew Cab 7.3
  • K & N Intake System
  • Cat & Muffler Delete
  • Phantom II Boost & Pyro
  • Dp Tuner F5 Chip
  • Foil Delete
itsuptwou is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-21-2009, 08:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
RadarRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsuptwou View Post
Well just like the title said. I was at work a couple weeks ago and we needed to move our cars. I went to start the truck and all i heard was a clicking noise. It went away and started up. To be safe i drove home and picked up my car.
Next day tried to start the truck, same clicking noise but this wouldnt allow the truck to start if it was clicking.
Heard the noise coming from the fuse panel and it was the Injector driver module relay. Go to the store buy a new one.. same problem with clicking but i can start the truck and then dies after 15 seconds.
Now if I apply my foot to the brake the truck will start up and run with no problem. The minute i let my foot off the brake the truck shuts down and the relay will start clicking again. Im sorta at a lose right now. My lease is due in like two weeks and I have a truck that wont run. Does anyone have any ideas.
I pulled my tune off the truck as well for safety and to eliminate one problem. Im not sure if its the Computer thats going nuts or the Fuse panel is toast. Chime in if anyone knows something
Have you tried scanning for codes? How does the truck run when it does start? Is your "Wait To Start" light on when you crank or do you have an SES?

"HEAVY" 2001 F-250 XLT 4x4 EC SB:
TW 6pos chip, S&B CAI, Monster 4" exhaust w/ Power Elbow, Big Head WGA, Technicooler, ITP boost fooler, Gen 1 Wicked Wheel, Six-Gun Tuner, Optima Yellow Tops, AutoMeter(Boost, Trans, EGT), CCV mod, MTS TC, MTS valve body, Trans Tech performance rebuild kit, TransGo shift kit, Hornblasters 242 Shocker Train Horns.

RadarRider is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-21-2009, 08:56 PM
OperationSmile.org

 
toddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ/Franklin TN
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsuptwou View Post
Well just like the title said. I was at work a couple weeks ago and we needed to move our cars. I went to start the truck and all i heard was a clicking noise. It went away and started up. To be safe i drove home and picked up my car.
Next day tried to start the truck, same clicking noise but this wouldnt allow the truck to start if it was clicking.
Heard the noise coming from the fuse panel and it was the Injector driver module relay. Go to the store buy a new one.. same problem with clicking but i can start the truck and then dies after 15 seconds.
Now if I apply my foot to the brake the truck will start up and run with no problem. The minute i let my foot off the brake the truck shuts down and the relay will start clicking again. Im sorta at a lose right now. My lease is due in like two weeks and I have a truck that wont run. Does anyone have any ideas.
I pulled my tune off the truck as well for safety and to eliminate one problem. Im not sure if its the Computer thats going nuts or the Fuse panel is toast. Chime in if anyone knows something


Theres a switch on the back side of the brake. Its what lets you take it in and out of gear. Im pretty sure that when that switch goes bad it won't let the truck run without pressing the brake. Its a safety deal. Im not 100% positive on this but I think I read the same thing on here not to long ago


toddy is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 02-21-2009, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
ill have to take a look. the truck would run fine once i apply the brake. but i was having the relay problem clicking alot. will that happen if my batteries are going bad? seems if i let the truck run or drive it after a couple days it will be tough to start or ill have to jump it. no SES lights or anything though

2003 F-250 Crew Cab 7.3
  • K & N Intake System
  • Cat & Muffler Delete
  • Phantom II Boost & Pyro
  • Dp Tuner F5 Chip
  • Foil Delete
itsuptwou is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 02-22-2009, 05:30 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 
NCHornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 50 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would start by fully charging the batteries, if they are over 4 years old just replace them.

NCH

NCH
Proud Father of USAF Airman


2000 F350 DRW,CC,LB, 4X4, Western Hauler Pkg.
Ford AIS/ BTM, FTVB
My CCV MOD, Coolant filter
06 Grill, 05 lights,6.0 trans cooler
Cyro/Hawks, JVC Touchscreen HU, JL C5's, Infinity 800watt amp,
DP tunes, 60 tow/80 e/120 race, on a SCT2 tuner
P3 controller, Brite Box Turbo Lifesaver
KMC Wheels x 4

http://s132.photobucket.com/user/NCH...=recent&page=1

Friends Don't Let Friends Drive Trucks With Generic Tunes
NCHornet is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-22-2009, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
Well bought some New Batteries for the truck just to be safe. I assume I found that switch your talking about its connected to the Pedal and there is a coder pin holding it together. If i put pressure on that connector the truck will stay running but the minute it moves around it will shut the truck down. Just have to find where to find out and how to get that one off. Im wondering if its the connector as well as the switch. This electric stuff sucks. I just need the truck to run.

2003 F-250 Crew Cab 7.3
  • K & N Intake System
  • Cat & Muffler Delete
  • Phantom II Boost & Pyro
  • Dp Tuner F5 Chip
  • Foil Delete
itsuptwou is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-22-2009, 07:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
baddkarmaracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: harlingen tx
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the truck needs a new motor you should just trade me for my 94 idi straigth up and i will put a cummins in it and all will be good jk bro it sounds to me like it is probably just the switch i will look at one of my work trucks tommorow and see if i can see how to get it off and mayben i can help you out

2008 F250 6.4 CC SB Fx4
Gearhead tunes, flopro exhaust,AFe intake
baddkarmaracing is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 02-23-2009, 08:15 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
Thanks, yeah its a pain to say the least. least im narrowing down the cause of all of this. Its very stressful not being able to drive the truck. Now I did notice the connector the clip was all broken off as well. I wonder if your able to just order a new connector and have to splice it into the harness or how that works. Im going over to the ford dealer i use to work at and see what they and pull up for me as well.

2003 F-250 Crew Cab 7.3
  • K & N Intake System
  • Cat & Muffler Delete
  • Phantom II Boost & Pyro
  • Dp Tuner F5 Chip
  • Foil Delete
itsuptwou is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 02-23-2009, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
well i pulled my fuse panel off to check to see if there was any water spots or corrosion by the fuse box. Nothing I can notice when pulling the box out of the truck. Not sure if i need to totally take it apart to check though. If thats all well im pinning it on the brake switch and harness going to that switch. Id rather replace that at 50 bucks for both then 250 for a panel

2003 F-250 Crew Cab 7.3
  • K & N Intake System
  • Cat & Muffler Delete
  • Phantom II Boost & Pyro
  • Dp Tuner F5 Chip
  • Foil Delete
itsuptwou is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-23-2009, 08:43 PM
OperationSmile.org

 
toddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ/Franklin TN
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Its 90% of the time the simpliest part. I would replace the switch and harness. If that doesn't work than you know your old one was good so switch it back out and take it back to the store. Thats what I always do


toddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome