Truck will not run when you let off the brake - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2009, 08:43 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
Exclamation Truck will not run when you let off the brake

Well just like the title said. I was at work a couple weeks ago and we needed to move our cars. I went to start the truck and all i heard was a clicking noise. It went away and started up. To be safe i drove home and picked up my car.
Next day tried to start the truck, same clicking noise but this wouldnt allow the truck to start if it was clicking.
Heard the noise coming from the fuse panel and it was the Injector driver module relay. Go to the store buy a new one.. same problem with clicking but i can start the truck and then dies after 15 seconds.
Now if I apply my foot to the brake the truck will start up and run with no problem. The minute i let my foot off the brake the truck shuts down and the relay will start clicking again. Im sorta at a lose right now. My lease is due in like two weeks and I have a truck that wont run. Does anyone have any ideas.
I pulled my tune off the truck as well for safety and to eliminate one problem. Im not sure if its the Computer thats going nuts or the Fuse panel is toast. Chime in if anyone knows something
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-21-2009, 07:08 PM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsuptwou View Post
Well just like the title said. I was at work a couple weeks ago and we needed to move our cars. I went to start the truck and all i heard was a clicking noise. It went away and started up. To be safe i drove home and picked up my car.
Next day tried to start the truck, same clicking noise but this wouldnt allow the truck to start if it was clicking.
Heard the noise coming from the fuse panel and it was the Injector driver module relay. Go to the store buy a new one.. same problem with clicking but i can start the truck and then dies after 15 seconds.
Now if I apply my foot to the brake the truck will start up and run with no problem. The minute i let my foot off the brake the truck shuts down and the relay will start clicking again. Im sorta at a lose right now. My lease is due in like two weeks and I have a truck that wont run. Does anyone have any ideas.
I pulled my tune off the truck as well for safety and to eliminate one problem. Im not sure if its the Computer thats going nuts or the Fuse panel is toast. Chime in if anyone knows something
Have you tried scanning for codes? How does the truck run when it does start? Is your "Wait To Start" light on when you crank or do you have an SES?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-21-2009, 07:56 PM
OperationSmile.org

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ/Franklin TN
Posts: 2,011
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsuptwou View Post
Well just like the title said. I was at work a couple weeks ago and we needed to move our cars. I went to start the truck and all i heard was a clicking noise. It went away and started up. To be safe i drove home and picked up my car.
Next day tried to start the truck, same clicking noise but this wouldnt allow the truck to start if it was clicking.
Heard the noise coming from the fuse panel and it was the Injector driver module relay. Go to the store buy a new one.. same problem with clicking but i can start the truck and then dies after 15 seconds.
Now if I apply my foot to the brake the truck will start up and run with no problem. The minute i let my foot off the brake the truck shuts down and the relay will start clicking again. Im sorta at a lose right now. My lease is due in like two weeks and I have a truck that wont run. Does anyone have any ideas.
I pulled my tune off the truck as well for safety and to eliminate one problem. Im not sure if its the Computer thats going nuts or the Fuse panel is toast. Chime in if anyone knows something


Theres a switch on the back side of the brake. Its what lets you take it in and out of gear. Im pretty sure that when that switch goes bad it won't let the truck run without pressing the brake. Its a safety deal. Im not 100% positive on this but I think I read the same thing on here not to long ago
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-21-2009, 09:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
ill have to take a look. the truck would run fine once i apply the brake. but i was having the relay problem clicking alot. will that happen if my batteries are going bad? seems if i let the truck run or drive it after a couple days it will be tough to start or ill have to jump it. no SES lights or anything though
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-22-2009, 04:30 AM
Powerstroke Junkie

 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 28 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would start by fully charging the batteries, if they are over 4 years old just replace them.

NCH
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
Well bought some New Batteries for the truck just to be safe. I assume I found that switch your talking about its connected to the Pedal and there is a coder pin holding it together. If i put pressure on that connector the truck will stay running but the minute it moves around it will shut the truck down. Just have to find where to find out and how to get that one off. Im wondering if its the connector as well as the switch. This electric stuff sucks. I just need the truck to run.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: harlingen tx
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the truck needs a new motor you should just trade me for my 94 idi straigth up and i will put a cummins in it and all will be good jk bro it sounds to me like it is probably just the switch i will look at one of my work trucks tommorow and see if i can see how to get it off and mayben i can help you out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-23-2009, 07:15 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
Thanks, yeah its a pain to say the least. least im narrowing down the cause of all of this. Its very stressful not being able to drive the truck. Now I did notice the connector the clip was all broken off as well. I wonder if your able to just order a new connector and have to splice it into the harness or how that works. Im going over to the ford dealer i use to work at and see what they and pull up for me as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-23-2009, 03:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.C.S Michigan
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to itsuptwou
well i pulled my fuse panel off to check to see if there was any water spots or corrosion by the fuse box. Nothing I can notice when pulling the box out of the truck. Not sure if i need to totally take it apart to check though. If thats all well im pinning it on the brake switch and harness going to that switch. Id rather replace that at 50 bucks for both then 250 for a panel
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-23-2009, 07:43 PM
OperationSmile.org

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ/Franklin TN
Posts: 2,011
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Its 90% of the time the simpliest part. I would replace the switch and harness. If that doesn't work than you know your old one was good so switch it back out and take it back to the store. Thats what I always do
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors