ECM code DPC-422 is this the only tuner chip I can use ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 07-29-2014, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sammamish
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ECM code DPC-422 is this the only tuner chip I can use ?

My truck 00 f350 SD CC 4x4 DRW auto has a ECM / PCM code on it that reads DPC-422 and I was looking at getting a used tuner/chip from a friend but his code is VDH 02 auto 7.3 will this work or do I need a chip from the same ECM as mine ?

Thanks
Chevydog is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 07-30-2014, 01:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
blue99stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 4,828
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Thanks: 18
Thanked 191 Times in 183 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it should work.

dpc-422 isnt your code btw.

it should be 3 letters 1 number.

since its a 2000 it should be pmt1
blue99stroker is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-30-2014, 03:11 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 
SeeYa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hoschton, GA
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 26
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevydog View Post
My truck 00 f350 SD CC 4x4 DRW auto has a ECM / PCM code on it that reads DPC-422 and I was looking at getting a used tuner/chip from a friend but his code is VDH 02 auto 7.3 will this work or do I need a chip from the same ECM as mine ?

Thanks
It will not work. The VDH DPC-462 PCM is for a 2002-2003 Federal truck. The DPC-422 is for a late 1999-2001 federal PCM. The chip will need to be reflashed for the 2000.

~Diane

Custom Tuning-Computer Chips

Flash Programmers-Aftermarket parts

Ford Power Stroke Engine and Transmission Tuning Specialist since 2004.

828-221-0076

DP-Tuner

Last edited by SeeYa; 07-30-2014 at 03:14 AM.
SeeYa is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to SeeYa For This Useful Post:
Dave (07-30-2014)
post #4 of 7 Old 07-30-2014, 06:03 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sammamish
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK so I looked at the ECM again and it has NVK4 on the top..........am I still SOL or can the chip work with my truck ?

If it wont work what would it cost to get it burned for my truck ??

Thanks
Chevydog is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-30-2014, 09:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 
Corey@CNCFAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Defiance, OH
Posts: 8,961
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Thanks: 730
Thanked 465 Times in 423 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
It will work

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

E99CCLB 250/200s,STG1cam, KC38R, 4" exh,CNC FAB fuel&oil lines,140vIDM,BTS,S&B

97 ECLB F250 4x4 all stock
96 CCLB F350 4x4 D60 swap stock



EDGE,S&B,SCT,PHP Hydra,TS-Perf,OEM parts,Sam Wyse trans,VB's,LED's,MBRP,ISSPRO,ICON,FOX,KC TURBOs,SD 7.3 fuel kits, HPOP lines

www.cncfab.us or email sales@cncfab.us

Corey@CNCFAB is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-30-2014, 09:24 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sammamish
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK great sounds like it will work with my ECM my question is it has default ECM on the tag VDH4 it is a 6 pos TS style chip with a stock setting and then 5 other settings. will the stock setting be the same as my ECM NVK4 or will I have problems ?

Thanks for all the info.
Chevydog is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-30-2014, 12:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 
SeeYa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hoschton, GA
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 26
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevydog View Post
OK so I looked at the ECM again and it has NVK4 on the top..........am I still SOL or can the chip work with my truck ?

If it wont work what would it cost to get it burned for my truck ??

Thanks
No NVK is still a DPC-422 not a DPC-462 (VDH).

If you use the one from the VDH truck you will not have a tach, the water in fuel bowl light will stay on and the trans tuning will be different.

Get it reburned and it will work properly.


~Diane

Custom Tuning-Computer Chips

Flash Programmers-Aftermarket parts

Ford Power Stroke Engine and Transmission Tuning Specialist since 2004.

828-221-0076

DP-Tuner
SeeYa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome