Remote start questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2014, 11:16 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Remote start questions

Hello all from a newbie here. Great forum and very helpful info. So I recently picked up an 02 F350 7.3L crew cab long box. Cleaning out the glove box I find an owners manual for a Ford factory remote starter. Looking at the windshield I see a remote antenna above the mirror. Looking under the dash by the factory fuse block I see a bunch of extra wires and connectors, 7 fuses, emergency override button, Ford Vehicle Security System black box zip tied up under the dash, etc..... under there. So it appears that there is a factory remote starter installed in the truck. I picked up a factory remote from Ford to operate it. Part# 2W7Z-15K601-BA. This remote matches the drawing of the remote in the owners manual. So I follow the programming instructions in the manual, but nothing happens. According to the manual, the horn is supposed to sound 3 times to let me know the system has entered the remote programming mode with the ignition on and the override button pushed and held for 15 seconds. Well it doesn't do anything. No horn. And yes, the horn works.
I tested all 7 fuses in the pack under the dash and they all have power on both sides.

So, my question is, can anyone help me diagnose this system and get it working? I don't know much about remote starting systems but do know quite a bit about diesels and Fords. ANY help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks and again, great forum and info here for all things Powerstroke!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2014, 11:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict