I need some AC Help please - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2014, 06:52 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I need some AC Help please

My 2k 7.3 ac works great except every now and then when I run the fan wide open it quits cooling and then later starts cooling again. Any ideas what is causing this? Getting ready to make a long run to Islamorada Fla. pulling a boat, so I really need to get this fixed.
I am not a mechanic but mechanically inclined with lots of tools.
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-06-2014, 07:18 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

My 2000 does this occasionally as well. Usually I think it is just my imagination or I am just really hot and it seems to be underperforming but then later it freezes me out of the cab. I am following this as well to see what people say.

I do know that I have read about the clutch shims needing to be removed as the electromagnets that draw the compressor clutch become weak over time and cannot pull the clutch into the compressor unless the gap is minimized. I haven't had a repeated enough problem to necessitate taking the clutch off the compressor and removing shims. Search the forum for clutch shims, ac compressor ect...

Last edited by biscayne; 07-06-2014 at 07:24 AM. Reason: added info as an afterthought.
Old 07-06-2014, 07:23 AM
Premium Member

Probably just low on freon. You can get those cans with a gauge at most auto parts stores for the low side and charge it up according to outside temp. It probably won't need much.

After that you should be good to go!

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Old 07-06-2014, 07:29 AM
Slacker

Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Either it's a tad too full of freon (R134a) or your air gap on your compressor could be out of spec.