ICP unplugged question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2009, 12:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 613
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ICP unplugged question

So what is supposed to happen when you unplug your ICP sensor? I've heard it won't run. I've also heard it will run but will be very sluggish because it goes into a default mode. I got a brand new ICP and the truck won't even run. It starts and then revs up a bunch and dies. If I unplug it, starts great runs pretty much fine. Maybe a little less top end but it blows a lot more smoke, than with the old sensor in. The truck will run fine with my old leaking ICP in. I think I may have an IPR issue that is making the ICP act funny but I was just wondering what it is supposed to do when you unplug it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-08-2009, 12:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zelienople, Pa
Posts: 641
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to harrys91rs
The computer uses default values for icp when you unplug the sensor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-08-2009, 12:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 613
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So it should run. Should it seem sluggish. Because mine almost seemed more responsive until top end and it blew more smoke.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-08-2009, 12:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Flint, MI
Posts: 4,062
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrys91rs View Post
The computer uses default values for icp when you unplug the sensor.
I don't KNOW, but default values mean it smokes? Wonder what that value is then...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-08-2009, 12:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zelienople, Pa
Posts: 641
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to harrys91rs
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboSevenThree View Post
I don't KNOW, but default values mean it smokes? Wonder what that value is then...
I know my IDLE icp is at 480psi with it plugged in and 725psi with it unplugged. Mine didn't smoke, but I didn't drive it with it unplugged. Your truck should run, but i don't know if it should smoke with it unplugged or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-08-2009, 12:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,543
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have baught brand new defective parts before. May be you got a bad one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-08-2009, 01:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 613
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
I have baught brand new defective parts before. May be you got a bad one.
I've thought about that. Does it make sense though that my old ICP that I know is bad or on its way to going out because it is leaking oil, runs fine. Almost the same as when it is unplugged? I was wondering if maybe it is totally shot so the even with that one plugged in it does it's default thing. And maybe whatever other issues I am having become more apparent with a new ICP that actually works. I figured I'd try and get my hands on another one to see how it acts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-08-2009, 01:32 PM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
more than likely you have a bad icp, if the old one was oil soaked the connector could be the problem also
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors