Gauge Pod Installation ??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation Gauge Pod Installation ???

Hi ! i just bought a three gauge pod that goes on the left pillar beside my windshield, can anyone plz help me with the installation, how can i make it hold there tight ?



Thanks !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Herriman, Utah
Posts: 442
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Your local parts store should have some interior screws that should hold it, I had to do this on my OBS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-27-2008, 09:00 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,361
Thanks: 23
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
it should of came with the screws to hold it in place....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-27-2008, 09:16 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
you should have to drill 4 small holes in it and then put these little plugs in them to hold the two together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-28-2008, 06:46 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You do understand the gauge pod is just a overlay, it fastens to the old a pillar trim piece, you drill holes in it to pass the wires through.

NCH
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-28-2008, 07:11 AM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,575
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have installed several sets of gauges and I always remove the factory pillar and save it incase there is a need to put it back stock later. I install 1 screw in the top of the gauge pod and screw it into a metal lip in the roof area, being careful that the screw isn’t long enough to go too deep. I have drilled and tapped for a 10-32 and I have used a self tapping screw. This works well, saves the stock pillar trim, is quicker and easier to do that cutting up the stock trim, is easy to access or remove in the future.

You can see the silver screw in the top left of this pic;

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-26-2009, 07:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 546
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the pic !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-27-2009, 06:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by alabamafrog View Post
I have installed several sets of gauges and I always remove the factory pillar and save it incase there is a need to put it back stock later. I install 1 screw in the top of the gauge pod and screw it into a metal lip in the roof area, being careful that the screw isn’t long enough to go too deep. I have drilled and tapped for a 10-32 and I have used a self tapping screw. This works well, saves the stock pillar trim, is quicker and easier to do that cutting up the stock trim, is easy to access or remove in the future.

You can see the silver screw in the top left of this pic;

I bought an extra A-pillar on Fleabay for $10 and saved my stocker so that if I ever sell the truck and want to keep the gauges I can without leaving huge azz holes in everything. You could probably grab one from a junkyard for that much cash or less- color doesn't matter, just shoot it with the same paint you use on the gauge pod.
Diesel Manor has a very complete set of instructions on installing gauges, the online version isn't quite as detailed but will surely help you out- clicky.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-27-2009, 08:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bend, Or
Posts: 6,089
Thanks: 29
Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have had 5 PSD's from 95, 96, 97, 99, 01 and everyone of them has had gauges installed... When I sell the truck the gauges have always been left inside....

New truck, I want new gauges... IMHO overlay the stock piece and be done...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-27-2009, 01:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A stock a pillar trim from Ford new isn't that expensive. I just bought a pre-assembled one from ITP and was done with it (which comes with a factory A pillar with the pod overlayed already.) And I still have my stock one.

And I must say Dennis did a helluva job. Looks factory, barely even see the plastic rivets and the paint is perfect.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors