Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Quick questions!!

780 views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  NCHornet 
#1 ·
#1 When in gear foot on brake idling, My intake is noisy as hell, like a vibrating sound. I guess the noise is coming from motor because turbo isnt spooling.

#2 When accelerating its very loud in cab, Does anyone have a solution to that.

#3 I have a wicked wheel to install. On previous threads they said to go ahead and get an ATS housing too. The housings I have seen are around $400. Do I need that housing that bad.

Need you guys expert opinions.

#2 ·
I am not sure about the vibrating sound,havent heard mine do that.As for the wicked wheel,I didnt go with a housing and mine seems to be fine.Everyones truck and ideas will always be different.I am happy with it.

#3 ·
I'll try, but I'm not an expert.

1) I bet it's your monster exhaust. My 4" barely fit and could easily vibrate against something. Isolate the vibrating part by putting someone in the truck to make the sound and then try and find it. Fixing the vibration should be easy once it is found.

2) It's a diesel with a big exhaust. It's supposed to be loud on acceleration. Mine is especially bad when it is cold outside.

3) No need for a special housing.

#4 ·
Thanks for the input. I was spending the money on exhaust, so I figured get the 5". I like the truck loud, my wife just has a problem with it.

#5 ·
Is your Down Pipe 4" too. Mine is 5" until the down pipe then it goes to 4". Did you have trouble with yours. When I shut my truck off you can here it clunking.

#6 ·
I would say you guys have something loose, I have a truck with a 4 inch and another with a 5 inch dp, and no rattles or noises from it..

#7 ·
Mine is 4" all the way to the turbo. The 4" is actually the closest to hitting the bolts on the trans X-member and at the same time the transmission heat shield. It's a real skinny spot where the pipe must go so I can't imagine trying to fit 5" pipe in there.