how do I get the livewire to display trans temp? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 10-12-2013, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
how do I get the livewire to display trans temp?

Innovative told me it displays trans temps for the 7 3s but I can't find it. Do I have to install a sensor and wire it to one of the analog inputs?

New truck in the works
wannatruck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 10-14-2013, 10:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 19
Thanked 38 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I can tell you how it works on my 6.0. I run my livewire screen monitoring 9 different vitals. Select the main screen set up and you can change from 3 to 9. Then there is another screen where you select what you want to monitor. I monitor ect, eot, battery volts, ficm volts, boost psi, tranny temp and 3 others.

99.5 F250 7.3 (Sold)
2006 F350 6.0 CC LB SRW FX4
Pro Comp 2.5 Leveling Kit
New Premium FICM from Ed
IPR GEN 2 EGR Delete w/ Up Pipe
Flo Pro 4" Turbo Back w/muffler
Blue Spring Mod
SCT Livewire ts
Ag Street Tune by Eric
NCDeerHunter is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-14-2013, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
My question is, I dont have trans temp as a option when I am on the 3 screen view. I havnt checked the others yet.

New truck in the works
wannatruck is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 10-14-2013, 10:36 AM
Chapter Director

 
Rammstein1224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
They dont have trans temp sensors in the 7.3 until late 2001 so you will have to buy aftermarket but im not familiar with livewire so im not sure if thats an option to do

Local Jackass member Pat

Battle cry of every 6.0 owner out there
Quote:
Originally Posted by access_max View Post
With the issues fixed a 6.0 can run circles around a 7.3.
2000 F-350 7.3L ZF6
Standard 7.3 mods
SCT tuned
8" Fabtech lift 13" total
5:13 Gears
46" Goodyear MVTs Military takeoffs
Bushwacker Cut-Out Fender Flares
Ranch Hand front and rear bumper
On-board air W/Semi horns

1995 F-350 7.3L E4OD DRW
Standard 7.3 mods
PHP Hydra W/Tony Wildman tunes
160/0 Injectors
T-500 HPOP
E-fuel Conversion
West Coast mirrors
Rammstein1224 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 10-14-2013, 11:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 19
Thanked 38 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by wannatruck View Post
My question is, I dont have trans temp as a option when I am on the 3 screen view. I havnt checked the others yet.
Maybe you will need to call innovative again just to make sure. I know mine has the option and I monitor the trans temp but the livewire wire for the 7.3 may not have the programming to support trans temp. That maybe the case from what was just posted above.

99.5 F250 7.3 (Sold)
2006 F350 6.0 CC LB SRW FX4
Pro Comp 2.5 Leveling Kit
New Premium FICM from Ed
IPR GEN 2 EGR Delete w/ Up Pipe
Flo Pro 4" Turbo Back w/muffler
Blue Spring Mod
SCT Livewire ts
Ag Street Tune by Eric
NCDeerHunter is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 10-14-2013, 12:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Seth14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Knox Indiana, 46534
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammstein1224 View Post
They dont have trans temp sensors in the 7.3 until late 2001 so you will have to buy aftermarket but im not familiar with livewire so im not sure if thats an option to do
My 99 has it on my edge insight.

Late 99, Blackwater long block, forged rods, ARP studs, 910 comp valve springs, stelite valves, 38R turbo, 238/100 hybrids, TS 6 position chip custom tuned by Beans, T500 hpop, FRx, Airdog 150, S&B intake, side piped, edge insight cts monitor, DC2 rims, Crusher tires, BTS transmission, 6.0 31 row tranny cooler, and lots of blue lights!!!!
Seth14 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 10-14-2013, 12:24 PM
Chapter Director

 
Rammstein1224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth14 View Post
My 99 has it on my edge insight.
Hmm strange im 99% sure that they didnt have trans temp until the big electrical update in late 2001. Someone can prove me wrong though

Local Jackass member Pat

Battle cry of every 6.0 owner out there
Quote:
Originally Posted by access_max View Post
With the issues fixed a 6.0 can run circles around a 7.3.
2000 F-350 7.3L ZF6
Standard 7.3 mods
SCT tuned
8" Fabtech lift 13" total
5:13 Gears
46" Goodyear MVTs Military takeoffs
Bushwacker Cut-Out Fender Flares
Ranch Hand front and rear bumper
On-board air W/Semi horns

1995 F-350 7.3L E4OD DRW
Standard 7.3 mods
PHP Hydra W/Tony Wildman tunes
160/0 Injectors
T-500 HPOP
E-fuel Conversion
West Coast mirrors
Rammstein1224 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 10-14-2013, 12:27 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Seth14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Knox Indiana, 46534
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammstein1224 View Post
Hmm strange im 99% sure that they didnt have trans temp until the big electrical update in late 2001. Someone can prove me wrong though
Now mine is a late model.....but that is one parameter I always monitor. Hoping to see a dropintemps as soon as my bts tranny and 6.0 31 cooler gets here. Ships out on the 16th I was told

Late 99, Blackwater long block, forged rods, ARP studs, 910 comp valve springs, stelite valves, 38R turbo, 238/100 hybrids, TS 6 position chip custom tuned by Beans, T500 hpop, FRx, Airdog 150, S&B intake, side piped, edge insight cts monitor, DC2 rims, Crusher tires, BTS transmission, 6.0 31 row tranny cooler, and lots of blue lights!!!!
Seth14 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 10-14-2013, 12:34 PM
Premium Member
 
Macon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm 99% certain that the PCM has monitored tranny temp in all the 7.3 Power Strokes. OBS and '99-'03. If the PCM is monitoring it, then there is a PID for it, so it should be displayable on a gauge. I believe the useless dash gauge was incorporated in '02.

2002 F250 CCSB 4x4
PHP Phoenix, John Woods VB, NUC bypass, 6637

"No country can be called free which is governed by an absolute power;
and it matters not whether it be an absolute royal power or an absolute
legislative power, as the consequences will be the same to the people."

--Thomas Paine, Four Letters on Interesting Subjects, 1776
Macon is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 10-14-2013, 12:43 PM
Chapter Director

 
Rammstein1224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macon View Post
I'm 99% certain that the PCM has monitored tranny temp in all the 7.3 Power Strokes. OBS and '99-'03. If the PCM is monitoring it, then there is a PID for it, so it should be displayable on a gauge. I believe the useless dash gauge was incorporated in '02.
Yea thats possible for the SD and i cant for sure say because i have the 6-speed but for the OBS it doesnt or torque pro app wont communicate with it someone can prove me wrong on that one too

Local Jackass member Pat

Battle cry of every 6.0 owner out there
Quote:
Originally Posted by access_max View Post
With the issues fixed a 6.0 can run circles around a 7.3.
2000 F-350 7.3L ZF6
Standard 7.3 mods
SCT tuned
8" Fabtech lift 13" total
5:13 Gears
46" Goodyear MVTs Military takeoffs
Bushwacker Cut-Out Fender Flares
Ranch Hand front and rear bumper
On-board air W/Semi horns

1995 F-350 7.3L E4OD DRW
Standard 7.3 mods
PHP Hydra W/Tony Wildman tunes
160/0 Injectors
T-500 HPOP
E-fuel Conversion
West Coast mirrors
Rammstein1224 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome