Installing a Thermocouple - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2013, 09:00 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Installing a Thermocouple

This weekend I'm going to install the thermocouple and my Edge CTS. I'm new at this and looking for techniques and helpful hints.

When drilling the hole:

1. Best way to make sure the hole is straight? Bracing?

When tapping the hole:

1. Looks like the best technique is to go in 1/8 of a turn and then back the tap out to clear debris. Repeat. Then, once complete, run the tap back through the whole length 2-3 times. Any better way/suggestions?

2. Do I thread the entire hole all the way through?

3. Is Loctite or anything else required to secure the thermocouple?

Lastly, if I SCREW THIS UP...Any large amount of damage if I drive 10 miles to a diesel mechanic with a small hole in the manifold?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-26-2013, 09:26 PM
RollinEarly05...now

Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Just make sure your location allows enough room for the probe itself. When drilling, use lots of grease to help catch the metal shaving from going into the exhaust. Do the same with the tap. Go in 1/8-1/4 turn and then back it out the same... Just keep repeating. Once your get close to going thru, then unscrew the tap all the way, clean it off, clean the hole out, and then regressed and finish tapping all the way into the exhaust. If your really nervous about it... Some guys say do it while the truck is running so there is pressure pushing towards you keeping the shaving from entering the exhaust, or you can use a magnet after your done to try and get all the little pieces one your done. It's not hard though...
Old 09-27-2013, 04:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict