Chip question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2013, 03:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Chip question

If the previous owner of my 7.3 put a chip on it like an superchip and left it in a tune that way and I didn't know about it what would happen if I put a edge chip on it and went to tune it. Would the factory setting the chip downloads be the one programmed with the superchip tune? Then what would happen when I go to put it on 100 horse and has a previous tune?

Reason I ask is been having issues with my truck and wondering if that could be an issue? Or would it really make it run like chit if that happend.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-18-2013, 05:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Somebody has had to have had this happen to them? I just want to know if it would even run if was programmed with one chip then re programmed with another chip.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-18-2013, 08:35 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Some chips are stackable and some aren't, if they aren't the new one usually won't load. Some will load and won't run, all sorts of possibilities and I can't remember all the different possibilities, best is to call the tuners and ask them. If you don't have the original programmer the PO used then you will need to have your PCM reflashed with the correct tune, or buy/ find used, another PCM to put in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-18-2013, 05:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats what I was thinking. I do not want to stack chips at all just trying to get this truck to run back to normal. I been working on a miss for a year and its been to ford for them to tell me replace this or that after its already been done. How ever I am going to switch ford shops and see what next place tells me and see if they will dig deeper and probably have them reflash it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-19-2013, 11:29 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Defiance
Posts: 4,409
Thanks: 348
Thanked 97 Times in 93 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The 7.3 PCM's are not stackable. Dealer can reflash your pcm for well under $100.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors