Chip question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 09-17-2013, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Chip question

If the previous owner of my 7.3 put a chip on it like an superchip and left it in a tune that way and I didn't know about it what would happen if I put a edge chip on it and went to tune it. Would the factory setting the chip downloads be the one programmed with the superchip tune? Then what would happen when I go to put it on 100 horse and has a previous tune?

Reason I ask is been having issues with my truck and wondering if that could be an issue? Or would it really make it run like chit if that happend.
redsmoke is offline  
post #2 of 5 Old 09-18-2013, 05:05 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Somebody has had to have had this happen to them? I just want to know if it would even run if was programmed with one chip then re programmed with another chip.
redsmoke is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-18-2013, 08:35 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 
NCHornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Some chips are stackable and some aren't, if they aren't the new one usually won't load. Some will load and won't run, all sorts of possibilities and I can't remember all the different possibilities, best is to call the tuners and ask them. If you don't have the original programmer the PO used then you will need to have your PCM reflashed with the correct tune, or buy/ find used, another PCM to put in.

NCH
Proud Father of USAF Airman


2000 F350 DRW,CC,LB, 4X4, Western Hauler Pkg.
Ford AIS/ BTM, FTVB
My CCV MOD, Coolant filter
06 Grill, 05 lights,6.0 trans cooler
Cyro/Hawks, JVC Touchscreen HU, JL C5's, Infinity 800watt amp,
DP tunes, 60 tow/80 e/120 race, on a SCT2 tuner
P3 controller, Brite Box Turbo Lifesaver
KMC Wheels x 4

http://s132.photobucket.com/user/NCH...=recent&page=1

Friends Don't Let Friends Drive Trucks With Generic Tunes
NCHornet is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-18-2013, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats what I was thinking. I do not want to stack chips at all just trying to get this truck to run back to normal. I been working on a miss for a year and its been to ford for them to tell me replace this or that after its already been done. How ever I am going to switch ford shops and see what next place tells me and see if they will dig deeper and probably have them reflash it.
redsmoke is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-19-2013, 11:29 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 
Corey@CNCFAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Defiance, OH
Posts: 9,617
Thanks: 803
Thanked 529 Times in 483 Posts
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The 7.3 PCM's are not stackable. Dealer can reflash your pcm for well under $100.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

E99CCLB 450/400s,STG1cam, KC38R, 4" exh,CNC FAB fuel&oil lines,140vIDM,BTS,S&B

97 ECLB F250 4x4 stock
96 CCLB F350 4x4 stock



EDGE,S&B,SCT,PHP Hydra,TS-Perf,OEM parts,Sam Wyse trans,VB's,LED's,MBRP,ISSPRO,ICON,FOX,KC TURBOs,SD 7.3 fuel kits, HPOP lines

www.cncfab.us or email sales@cncfab.us

Corey@CNCFAB is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome