Does my truck have factory keyless entry? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2008, 11:37 AM
***mins Sell-out
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kittitas
Posts: 783
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Chewbacca Send a message via Skype™ to Chewbacca
Does my truck have factory keyless entry?

It's a 99.5 Lariat, but I only got one key from the dealership when I bought it. Was it standard, or an option? Can I just buy a ford remote and program it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-12-2008, 02:36 PM
Berm Buster

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Angelica, NY
Posts: 527
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You would prolly have to call the dealer and give them the VIN number. There really is no way to test for it. The dealer will be able to tell you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-12-2008, 02:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 281
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You don't have the original window sticker by any chance do you? That will tell you for sure.

If it's a lariat I would think it should have it, but you would have to check for sure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-12-2008, 02:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 2,787
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Turn your truck on then off 8 or 10 times really quick. Pause on the 8th (or 10th, I forget) time with the truck in the ON position. If the truck automatically locks and unlocks, you have keyless entry. If you were to have a remote handy, you'd press any button on the remote now, then turn the truck to off. Then the remote would be fully programmed to that truck. Don't do it if you have any other Ford remotes around. They could get programmed to the truck. Did that on accident once.... LOL
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-12-2008, 03:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 281
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaairman View Post
Turn your truck on then off 8 or 10 times really quick. Pause on the 8th (or 10th, I forget) time with the truck in the ON position. If the truck automatically locks and unlocks, you have keyless entry. If you were to have a remote handy, you'd press any button on the remote now, then turn the truck to off. Then the remote would be fully programmed to that truck. Don't do it if you have any other Ford remotes around. They could get programmed to the truck. Did that on accident once.... LOL
Shoot, I forgot about that procedure, I did a similar one to shut off the automatic lock function when you go over 5 or 10 mph, good idea.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-12-2008, 03:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 3,196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaairman View Post
Turn your truck on then off 8 or 10 times really quick. Pause on the 8th (or 10th, I forget) time with the truck in the ON position. If the truck automatically locks and unlocks, you have keyless entry. If you were to have a remote handy, you'd press any button on the remote now, then turn the truck to off. Then the remote would be fully programmed to that truck. Don't do it if you have any other Ford remotes around. They could get programmed to the truck. Did that on accident once.... LOL
Freakin Great call man, I have an 04 and No remote, So I can go find a remote and do this?. Cool
Sorry to
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-13-2008, 01:55 AM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I too only got one key and no remote when I bought my truck. I bought 2 remotes on eBay for around $10 and did the key on/off 5 or 8 times trick and programmed them both. Before I bought them I cycled the key to make sure my truck had the option and the locks cycled so I went ahead and bought them. Dealer wanted something like $65 each for the remotes and programming. Worked great for a couple years until I got the remote start system for like $35 on eBay. Haven’t used the ford remotes since. Being a Lariat I would be very surprised if it didn’t have keyless entry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedyboy487 View Post
You would prolly have to call the dealer and give them the VIN number. There really is no way to test for it. The dealer will be able to tell you.
Oh yee of little DIY faith, never say no way or dealer only.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-13-2008, 09:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 2,787
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanH View Post
Freakin Great call man, I have an 04 and No remote, So I can go find a remote and do this?. Cool
Sorry to
Test to make sure you have the keyless entry first, then get the remote.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors