Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Superchips 1805 Question

4K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  drstephennix 
#1 ·
Hi all. I have a quick question about my 7.3 since I'm still learning alot about these motors. Currently I have a DIY Intake, 3.5" Straight exhaust w/o muffler, and ZooDad mod. I came across a good deal on a Superchips 1805 tuner for the truck. Before everyone starts bashing me on the tuner, I got it for a really good deal that I couldn't pass up and I like the fact I can change my speedo calibrations for the larger tires, not to mention the fact I now have a scanner for the codes. From what I have read on the Superchips website, the tuner has the following "cookie cutter" tunes on it: Performance Tune: Max 99.8 HP and 160.3 foot lbs torque Tow Safe Tune: Max 47.2 HP and 81.9 foot lbs torque Tow Performance Tune: Max 88.9 HP and 132.1 foot lbs torque. Will running the truck on the 99.8 HP tune hurt the truck in any way since I don't have guages to monitor what the truck is doing? I mean, since these tunes are "cookie cutter" tunes, gauges wouldn't be required like they should with a custom tune on a high HP setting?

#4 ·