Vaccum leak to much boost? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 08-22-2013, 04:34 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
jvanwalsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Vaccum leak to much boost?

Just today noticed on my gauges that the vaccum at idle is 1.7 normally it ha s been 5.4. Also when I hit the gas I never really got above 1.0 for boost but today on the gauge I saw 5.1, never saw the boost gauge go this high and fuel mileage seems to be down also.
jvanwalsen is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 08-22-2013, 05:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Zaairman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 3,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Either your boost gauge is broken or your truck has serious issues. These trucks make 0 vacuum at idle. I'm not sure what hitting the gas is for you, but at WOT you should see at least 17+lbs of boost if your truck is stock. Merging on the highway, figure 8-10. Cruising at 70, you should be at 4-5.

Zach
2000/2006ish Ford F-250 Larryette 7.3 Powerstroke 4x4
5" Sewer Pipe Exhaust (video clip), DIY 6637 Intake, Wicked Wheel'd, De-foiled, Missing EBPV, Edge Juice with Attitude, Few leaves added here and there, 35" BFGs, 16x10 Eagle Alloys, Alpine W200

SLAPS Member #153
Zaairman is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-22-2013, 11:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Diesels make 0 vacuum period. They are open to atmosphere and do not have a throttle plate. No throttle plate = no pressure differential = no vacuum.
hydroman is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-23-2013, 12:29 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
jvanwalsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So is there a vaccum pump? I am using the torque app for android. Maybe it is set up wrong. Just seeing different numbers with less fuel mileage. What should be checked. Doesnt the 4x4, and heater run off of vaccum?
jvanwalsen is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-23-2013, 01:49 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
jvanwalsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Man I am an idiot, when I did the gooch flush procedure I turned the chip to high idle when I was done turned it the wrong way and it was on stock.
jvanwalsen is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-23-2013, 02:01 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
JSchuricht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanwalsen View Post
So is there a vaccum pump? I am using the torque app for android. Maybe it is set up wrong. Just seeing different numbers with less fuel mileage. What should be checked. Doesnt the 4x4, and heater run off of vaccum?
There is a small electric vacuum pump on the passenger side fender. It's only used for the vent controls and automatic 4x4 hubs.

JSchuricht is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome