Water temps on recently installed gauge - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2013, 10:34 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Water temps on recently installed gauge

Hello, I recently installed some gauges on my 02 psd. I have been using a 203* t stat from diesel site for the last 4 years (I'm on my 2nd one as they recommend replacing semi annually) and now have a chance to monitor temps on my commute. I drive over a mountain pass with a 10% grade that climbs about 2000 ft daily and have noticed my water temps climb to 220*. Without grade I have a constant temp of 200-205 which folks at diesel site say is normal for their t stat. Is (220) an ok (normal) temp for stated conditions? Once over summit the temps return/recover to 200-205 quickly.
I have a water temp gauge in our vw tdi and temps always climb 10-20 degrees (depending on ambient air temp) while accending grade so it seems normal but just thought I'd check.
Since I'm asking. I also have a egt gauge now and have noticed that on my decent egt's go down to below where they sit at idle. Is this normal? Seems like they would parallel idle but maybe wind has cooling effect? Egt's are normally 200-300 at idle and will drop as low as 100 on descent of pass. I have been suspicious that gauge is off so id love some feedback on that too. Thanks very much in advance for any help! Matt
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-16-2013, 10:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

yup, egt seems inline with mine. If running the 203* stat, then that water temp is probably normal.
Old 08-16-2013, 03:40 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Does the gauge utilize a probe thats in a well somewhere?