Quad guages install - How I did it! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2013, 08:46 PM
Premium Starfish Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,532
Thanks: 13
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quad guages install - How I did it!

Thought I would put together a little thread for DYI'ers like myself on installing some gauges
on to the A-Pilar.
So, what I have are some ProParts - Spek Pro gauges, and a KT Performance - 6pos LED Switch for the Ts-Chip.

1) Removal.
First you will need to remove the handle on the A-Pilar. Pop off the covers and remove the four bolts
that secure the handle to the main A-Pilar. Now once the bolts are out, the handle will still stay attached
to the A-Pilar cover. Thats because there are 2 screws that act as location mounts.
Now - what you will want to do next is on the door of the truck cab, pull the weather strip off a little bit. Believe it or not, this seal (once removed out of the way for minute)
will give you access to the A-Pilar cover. Once you have this access - it is just a simple tug down to pull the A-Pilar cover
out of the pressure slots holding it up. Once you have all the pressure connectors pulled down/out,
just gently work the A-pilar out by turning it clock wise and a little pulling up down by the window/dash.



2) Initial test fit.
So the AutoMeter Quad gauge pod holder does not come with any clips or brackets to mount it into place.
Also, it does not come with anything to mount it to your existing A-Pilar cover. With that said - it's not time to get a little creative on fitment.
First thing you will want to do is get your gauges into the pod locations.


Once in - you may also need to connect any wires so that you can check for fitment on these and binding.
Now in my case - I'm going to re-use my A-Pilar cover. In some areas, it causes it to not fit flush and a little hard to run wiring. So - I'm going to 'Modify' my A-Pilar cover.
Meaning - I'm going to cut some areas out to make room. You may not have to do this on all gauge pods, but in my case - it's a necessary evil!
Once that is done - I used some clamps - and some small screws to 'bond' the gauge pod to the A-Pilar
Then I can also run (and separate) wiring through my access holes so that they can be run down the Pilar and down behind the dash.


3) Running leads/wiring - in cab/dash.
The nice thing about the diesels - there's a lot of room available on the drivers side dash to run
stuff through - I was pretty (and nicely) surprised! And I think I found out why, and this is spefically to Diesels. Because there is no vaccuum brake booster - this frees up some room!
So being able to neatly run your power leads and your sensor leads down behind is just as simple as tie'ing them together with a decent length of string and if you have a bendy grapler of somekind, or if have tiny enough hands - run the string down and pull the wires and leads carefully down behind the dash to the floor.




4) Running leads through the firewall!
So, at some point - these sensor leads need to get to the drive train components, which means something will have to go through the firewall to get into the engine bay. Well, there are 3 stock locations that have grommets with leads going to the engine bay. This isn't including the PCM mount -and don't even consider it.
But the 3 others, one is about 1 1/2 inch round wiring harness going into about a 2 1/2in. hole. Problem is this grommet is really stiff and hard to get any of your connectors through. Middle one - is smaller any you might be able to get 1, possibly 2 through, but it'll be a tight fit.
Then there's one more down below - in my case - couldn't use that one because that got my power lead to my additional stereo amplifier. So what to do. Do I drill another hole?
So I took a little extra time looking and found the perfect spot!
Again - the non-existent brake booster!!!! On the diesels - there is a cover that is pressure fit over the hole where the vaccuum booster would go (in the cab - it's right above the PCM.) From under dash - there is a little bit of a foam cover.
remove it to get access!



From inside - under the dash - and just above the PCM mount, you can feel for 2 pressure connector. Just push those little dudes and the cap that is in the engine bay will just come right off. This give you a the perfect spot as well as (with a little modification again) a grommet (of sorts) to use!
On the back side of this plate - drill! X Marks the spot! And drill until you're able to fit your biggest connector through - then the smaller ones. Then - pull all the wires through, but not too snug yet.



Shot from under the dash


Sorry if you have the Vaccuum Booster (gas engine) - you will need to likely come with with another solution (ie, making another hole in the firewall) to get your leads into the engine bay!

5) Finalize!
Now that you have done all your test fitment, secure your pod to your A-Pilar.
If you want - and depending on your gauges, you can either run all your power leads down behind the dash, or
shorten them - and just crimp and connect them to only run 1 set of power/ground up the A-Pilar.
Me personally, I ran them all down. Just in case I ever need to pull them out and use them in another vehicle if/when I get rid of this truck. But connect them up and make sure they're facing the way that you want and tighten everything down. Make sure you're gauge pod is securely fastened to your 'modified' A-Pilar cover.

Again - pull the weather stripping out of the way for a moment - and then after your wires/leads are run down,
point the long end of the A-Pilar down at an angle and push down gently until you feel it down behind the dash.
Then carefully turn counter-clockwise and start to line up the pressure locks from your originally A-Pilar to fit back in in. Once that is done - push your weather stripping back into place.

From there - it's just a matter of hooking up your gauges to their proper sensory positions (per their manuals instructions,) and providing them with power!

Last edited by AzPatMan; 08-11-2013 at 06:45 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-10-2013, 09:27 PM
Behavior Modificationist

 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,245
Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Great write up Pat

I've never seen a 6 pos switch located there before. I didn't like that look at first but its growing on me since I saw the bottom photo.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-11-2013, 06:46 AM
Premium Starfish Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,532
Thanks: 13
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Thanks - here's a little video I put together once I got them wired in

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-11-2013, 06:49 AM
Premium Starfish Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,532
Thanks: 13
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
lol - can I get a mod to fix my subject line of the thread please.

That should have read "Qaud gauge" install..
That's what I get for writing this at 11pm at night
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-11-2013, 07:54 AM
Serving Our Country!


 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everett WA
Posts: 3,635
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to buckels Send a message via MSN to buckels Send a message via Yahoo to buckels
Pat your video is private...

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-11-2013, 08:36 AM
Premium Starfish Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,532
Thanks: 13
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckels View Post
Pat your video is private...

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Woops - fixed! thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-11-2013, 09:07 AM
Premium Starfish Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,532
Thanks: 13
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Also - I just learned that the panel that I thought was the Vacuum boost location is actually the Master Cylinder location that is used for trucks with manual transmissions!
Figured I'd post this before anyone decides to go on a rant
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-12-2013, 07:24 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,820
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
looks good, AZ. You build the 6pos led or is that out on the market now?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-12-2013, 07:43 AM
Premium Starfish Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,532
Thanks: 13
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I honestly thought about building my own, instructions are easy enough and are provided here (link to another forum)
lighted TS chip switch - homemade - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com

However, I just wanted to get all my gauges in and I've been really pressed for time lately - So I bit the bullet and dropped the few extra bux to have it made by the folks at
KT Performance:
Diamond T 6 Position Selector Switch for TS Performance Chip, Green LEDs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-12-2013, 01:09 PM
Premium Starfish Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,532
Thanks: 13
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Just found out - Seems the manufacture of these gauges were bought out my AutoMeter.
So much for my plan on being unique on my equipment
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors