How long to make oil pressure? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 08-10-2013, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How long to make oil pressure?

I know these trucks will cut off if they don't make oil pressure within a set amount of time...

My question is how long does it usually (or should it) take? I feel like mine takes awhile. I know its only a few seconds but it seems like sometimes I'm watching it and expecting it and wondering if its going to make it.
Pipewrench is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-10-2013, 12:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Valley Springs
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine does the same thing. Usually takes a few seconds for the oil pressure light to go off.
99' Powerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-10-2013, 07:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine has been doing that as well. I never noticed it until after I had the turbo of and was a little worried that maybe I had a leak at first. So I am always watching it close now and it always has me worried. No problems yet though.
Matthews is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-11-2013, 12:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The engine won't run unless it has oil pressure. There is enough oil in the HPOP reservoir to run for a little while but the LPOP should fill it quickly as it is a direct feed to the HPOP. Could be (partially) clogged oil pressure sender from dirty oil causing a delay in the reading
hydroman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome