Do I need to plug my vacuum lines when I put in new hubs? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 07:03 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 207
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Do I need to plug my vacuum lines when I put in new hubs?

I bought the mile marker hubs and was reading up to try and get some advice and I see a lot of people plugging vacuum lines.

Do I need to do this? And if so what is the reason and advantage of it?
wannatruck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 07:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 5
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
If you dont your ac will only blow on defrost when 4x4 is engaged

2000 F250 XcabSB, 4x4, 4" strait pipe, DIY intake, FRx, BDP tunes, WW2, 6.0 cooler, BTS VB, gauges, 55w digital projector HIDs
gomer pyle is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 07:21 AM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17,342
Thanks: 824
Thanked 886 Times in 855 Posts
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Quoted: 1191 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
that is not entirely true

it would only divert to defrost for about 20 seconds ( the avg vacuum signal duration) if the mile marker hubs are not airtight

but it's best to block the vacuum line at the ESOF solenoid on the pass fender well

and at the knuckle this will prevent any possible issues

.
.
.
Please donate to DTR Ron's Memorial

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

We Miss you Ronnie
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZMANN is online now  
post #4 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 08:27 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 207
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Any pictures of the ESOF solenoid? I havnt seen any pictures yet.

I have manual locking hubs so they wouldnt have vacuum hooked up to them anyways would they?
wannatruck is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 11:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
blue99stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 5,373
Thanks: 18
Thanked 233 Times in 224 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no they wont hook up to vacuum.
you just need to cap the line at the knuckle and the line.

theirs only a brake line and the esof line.
its easy to tell the difference.
just cap the line farther up.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
99.5 f250 7.3 4x4 260k FF 160/30, PHP Hydra, S&B CAI, 4" Exhaust, RR Billet Wheel, Autometer Gauges, Transgo, Non-Ebpv Pedestal, High Flow Outlet, 08 Tow Mirrors.

Dad-2000 7.3 4x4 110k miles, Autometer Gauges, Superchips 1705, 6637, 4" Exhaust, BD Billet Wheel, TruCool Max
blue99stroker is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 11:13 AM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17,342
Thanks: 824
Thanked 886 Times in 855 Posts
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Quoted: 1191 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
and maybe a ABS line since He didn't mention years

.
.
.
Please donate to DTR Ron's Memorial

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

We Miss you Ronnie
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZMANN is online now  
post #7 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 11:19 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 207
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Its a 2000 sorry I should of mentioned that

So even tho it is manual locking hubs they still have vacuum lines ran to them?
wannatruck is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 11:27 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 207
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I have the 449 mile marker hubs and I got my old hubs out and I noticed that the mile marker hubs have shorter teeth then the factory ones?

Is this normal or did they send me the wrong hubs?
wannatruck is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 11:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
blue99stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 5,373
Thanks: 18
Thanked 233 Times in 224 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the stock ones are manual and auto.
your new manual hubs do not need the vacuum lines.
my warn ones are shorter than my stock ones.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
99.5 f250 7.3 4x4 260k FF 160/30, PHP Hydra, S&B CAI, 4" Exhaust, RR Billet Wheel, Autometer Gauges, Transgo, Non-Ebpv Pedestal, High Flow Outlet, 08 Tow Mirrors.

Dad-2000 7.3 4x4 110k miles, Autometer Gauges, Superchips 1705, 6637, 4" Exhaust, BD Billet Wheel, TruCool Max
blue99stroker is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 07-04-2013, 12:32 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 207
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Ohhh Ok i understand now.

So with these mile marker hubs they are fully manual? But it will still go in 4x4 the same and everything?

I got the hubs in I was making that more difficult then it should of been The mile marker hubs directions said to oil the hubs and to not pack them with grease does that sound right?
wannatruck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome