Lack of power & MPG - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2008, 01:42 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lack of power & MPG

Aloha everyone. I'm new to diesels & this board. Need advice (long)

Recently purchased '01 7.3 f250 4X4 cc w/68k miles & am very dissappointed in both towing power & fuel economy and would appreciate some input. Not sure of true weight but boat & trailer prbly are in the 8.5k# - 11k# range depending on fuel, gear etc. Truck did not have gauges but have ordered a pillar mount pyro, tranny, boost set up. I have changed oil & filter (full synthetic), checked trans fluid (ok), chnged fuel filter, added Diesel Kleen to full tank of fuel, airraid intake (filter is acceptable, ordering new one - feed tube clean). Haven't checked the turbo yet but will, don't think thats the prblm since no white smoke or hesitations and it spools fine.

Truck is chipped but don't know with what. 8-10" lift running Toyo 38's. Custom front susp' with coil over shocks, airride rear, rear hitch. Oversized transmission pan & rear diff' cover. Thank God for a custom 55gal tank. Other than fuel mileage & towing on grades truck runs strong with no smoke, hesitation, or other signs of a prblm.

Driving painfully conservative at all points (I mean that - I am 50 yrs old), Fwy mileage MAYBE 15 / intown 13 / towing 9. Towing 6% grades brought me down to 35miles hr & slight grades to 55-60 (I am not flooring it but close enough). Truck seems to not want to downshift unless I forced it to even in tow mode. From what I've read on here that is far below acceptable. Have friend with similar set up (truck, lift, tires etc - no chip but only 25k miles) 2006-6.0 who pulled the boat to mexico - he breezed those grades at 75-80mph & altho I don't know his actual fuel economy he says didn't drop it much off unloaded.