Newbie with a lot of questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2008, 02:12 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Newbie with a lot of questions

Before I get into all the questions, I want to say nice site! I have been poking around for a few hours now and learned quite a bit.

I am brand new to diesels (just bought the truck pictured below this friday) but not new to turbos and such as I made the turbo kit for my (yes I know, I come from the dark side) camaro and tuned it myself as well...but my new Ford truck doesn't have spark plugs so i am lost
Specs are: 2002 F250, auto, 7.3L, 60K miles with 33's, leveling kit, a K&N cone filter, and 4" exhaust.
When I bought the truck, the dealer threw in a Superchips programmer and said to use the Towing Hi-perf so that's what I put in it.
First off I notced the throttle is very sensitive, so much that any movement I feel in the truck, affects my foot and so the truck's throttle is affected...I guess this is normal?
It feels rather weird having a boosted vehicle without any boost/afr gauges so I was going to kill two birds with one stone by getting a Snow III kit so I will have boost and egt. Good idea? I run their kit on my SS but with straight meth so I know all the buzz about meth/water injections.
I use the truck primarily for commuting with maybe a little driving to the dump or light trailor...possibly tow my SS once i get a car trailer, but i don't mind changing the programming for the few times I am actually towing something heavy.
So for normal non-trailer usage, will I be under the magic 400rwhp pmr set marker with the superchips set on hi-perf, 50/50 meth/h20 and the intake/exhaust that i have?