Turbo replacement issue - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 05-05-2013, 09:48 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Turbo replacement issue

I just received a new (remanu) gtp38 and pedestal for my 2000 7.3 (stock). When comparing the old turbo & pedestal side by side to the new ones, I noticed that the new pedestal doesn't have the EBPV solenoid connector. The new turbo also doesn't have the EBPV actuator. If i install this new combo, what do i do with the EBPV connector, just leave it hanging?
hemloc is offline  
post #2 of 8 Old 05-05-2013, 10:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jesilvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Leave it hanging. I'd love to get the non EBPV outlet/pedestal.
Dfuser does have a resistor that plugs into the harness to eliminate the soft code but it's worthless to me.



2000 F-350 Lariat Super Duty, Dually, CCLB, 7.3L
4R100, 2wd
330,000 + miles
jesilvas is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-05-2013, 11:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
blue99stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 5,039
Thanks: 18
Thanked 216 Times in 207 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ya i want to get the same kit.
the turbo you got basically has a non ebpv pedestal so you wont get any leaks from that and it sounds like a high flow outlet so no butterfly valve.

99.5 f250 7.3 4x4 258k
PHP Phoenix, S&B CAI, 4" TBE, Hpx, Stancor, RR Billet Wheel, AIH Delete, Autometer Gauges, Leveling kit, Transgo kit, Warn Hubs, Int'l Up-Pipes, RR IC Boots, Non-Ebpv Pedestal, High Flow Outlet, RR OCR, 08 Tow Mirrors.

Dad-2000 7.3 109k miles, Autometer Gauges, Superchips 1705, AIH Delete, 6637, 4" TBE, BD Billet Wheel, TruCool Max
blue99stroker is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-05-2013, 12:01 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok, I guess I will leave it hanging then. Thanks for response guys.
hemloc is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-06-2013, 07:48 AM
Chapter Director

 
Rammstein1224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,936
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 37 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemloc View Post
Ok, I guess I will leave it hanging then. Thanks for response guys.
Yep you have the pedestal most guys swap over too because it gets rid of the EBPV so when its cold you wont have the annoying cutout of power when you go over 2000 rpms

Local Jackass member Pat

Battle cry of every 6.0 owner out there
Quote:
Originally Posted by access_max View Post
With the issues fixed a 6.0 can run circles around a 7.3.
2000 F-350 7.3L ZF6
Standard 7.3 mods
SCT tuned
8" Fabtech lift 13" total
5:13 Gears
46" Goodyear MVTs Military takeoffs
Bushwacker Cut-Out Fender Flares
Ranch Hand front and rear bumper
On-board air W/Semi horns

1995 F-350 7.3L E4OD DRW
Standard 7.3 mods
PHP Hydra W/Tony Wildman tunes
160/0 Injectors
T-500 HPOP
E-fuel Conversion
West Coast mirrors
Rammstein1224 is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-06-2013, 09:49 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok, I got the new turbo & pedestal installed now and took it for a spin; sounds & feels much better, BUT.. now i have an oil leak. Not happy. I can't see exactly where its coming from but i'm guessing between pedestal and turbo..? Anyone experience this? Its leaking profusely mostly after i shut it off. I did put in both those 2 little O-rings, but there's nothing else between turbo & pedestal, which didn't seem right at the time. Before i start over, anyone have some good advice for someone who knows little about what he's doing?
hemloc is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-06-2013, 12:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jesilvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Should be four orings. Two between turbo and pedestal. Two between motor and pedestal.



2000 F-350 Lariat Super Duty, Dually, CCLB, 7.3L
4R100, 2wd
330,000 + miles
jesilvas is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-06-2013, 12:56 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats what i thought! BUT, both surfaces - between motor & pedestal - it was completely flat, even next to both ports. There isn't any grooves for the o-rings to seat into.
hemloc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome