A little about me, and more of my 7.3! (PIC HEAVY) - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2013, 12:59 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
A little about me, and more of my 7.3! (PIC HEAVY)

Hello everyone,

This is my build page

ABOUT ME:
My name is Nate, I am a diesel tech for Ziegler Caterpillar in Fergus Falls, MN. I mainly work on farm, and compact construction equipment. I used to work at a small transmission shop in Alexandria, MN, and went to Alexandria Technical college for diesel mechanics and graduated with an AAS degree (honor roll, woop woop!!) in 2012.

Now on to the good stuff! Here is my truck the day I bought it!

Here is my truck now!

Here is some shots of in-between!

I bought the truck in april of '12

Anyway, plans for the truck were for just a simple longevity build, but that tanked because I have a bad motor.

I recently pulled the injectors and put brand new alliant AD code injectors in, new glow plugs, and UVCH's truck smokes like a pig when its cold and has a miss until its warm
Compression tests revealed cyl 1-7 were 395-410 PSI. Cyl #8 turned out with barely 300 PSI.

So now what? well, I have been tossing the idea around of fixing up the rest of the truck and selling it for a 6.4, or a late model 5.9 cummins. But then I ran into a different situation. A fellow employee has a 2000 7.3L with nearly 400,000 miles, and his motor went bad. cyl 8 has about 80 PSI. He bought a used running motor from a van with all the dressings. SO he offered to sell me his old motor.